Where did all the work ethic go?!

I really need to rant for a second about my generation and how incredibly lazy many people are.

What happened to a good work ethic?
What happened to wanting to perform at your best?
What happened to doing more than is necessary to get by?

I am 35 years old and have been working since I was 15. I went to work tonight and I open my email to see that I have a message from the HR manager of the company (she manages all 8 practices) saying “You are at 38 hours for this week… Just a reminder that we are only 4 days into the week and it ends on Wednesday.”

Okay. So… hire more people.
We have I am at 71 hours for the pay period so far so that’s been what? 10 days?

The email felt like a nastygram to me because yes, I have worked my butt off the last ten days but I can’t help that I’m going to be in overtime. Get people to come in and do their dang jobs! I have been covering shifts to keep the practice afloat. Perhaps you should THANK me, not chastise me.

I get it: they don’t want to spend any more money than is necessary but dang, what are we supposed to do? How can you run a practice without staff? You cant.

We have a “float pool” of PRN (as needed)  people. I am in that float pool because I can’t commit to a regular schedule while I am still in school. However, I am still working more than full time hours.

I worked with a kid from the float pool last night who complained that he is only getting 10 hours on this paycheck. I offered him my shift today. I got six excuses why he couldn’t work.

WHERE DID ALL THE WORK ETHIC GO?!

We have an eight office practice. We have dozens of providers. We have so few nurses willing to work. I am starting to think that HR needs to either mandate people to work or they need to fire some people and give jobs to those who actually want them. I am so exhausted. I told the HR manager that I have five days off in March. FIVE.

I can’t work that much. I will literally shut down. I have school. I have a family. I am taking chemo. I am doing my best but I cannot work every single day. I came home and told my husband that I am getting a massage or pedicure after this pay period because I am so tired, so sore, and so burned out that I need to escape for a bit. He said, “Baby, get both.” I knew I loved him for a reason. (I love him for lots of reasons but still…) He went outside to sit in the hot tub for a bit while I write this nonsense and do homework before class tomorrow.

This entry didn’t make a lot of sense, I mostly repeated my frustrations over and over again but I do feel a little better after having written it.

 

 

Log in to write a note
March 5, 2018

I feel every bit of this in my career, too! I also can sympathize with this because when I worked for Nora and tried staffing nurses SO many didn’t want to take shifts yet their availabilities were wide open. I had so many hospitals get angry with ME over it. Look I can’t make some one come in. I’ve called 7 people and all 7 people had several reasons why just like 10 hour dude. DO YOUR JOB Y’ALL! DO YOUR JOB!

March 18, 2018

Hey lady!!  So glad to see this place back up and running!!  Are you a nurse now? i am too.. lol.. so many things change in all these years.