More appointments made, and to be made

giveaway of the day

Today is, so far, another good day for Mom. The Manager of the unit wanted to talk to me, and told me that the treatment team was thinking that Mom had had a stroke at some point, and wanted to know if Mom had a neurologist. I said she did, and that I’d be happy to set up an appointment for an eval, even thought I don’t think she has had a stroke. I have since done so – the appointment is next week.

I was originally worried about a stroke way back in the end of April, but all of her doctors at the time said that there was NO chance she’d had one, and since I HAVE been paying attention the whole time, I do agree with them. Not that there’s NO chance, but that she very likely has NOT had one. I’ve seen them, and while I agree a lot of her current symptoms are the same as a stroke, they’re also symptoms she’s had on and off for decades. The confusion is new as of LAST year, and it’s usually only after a surgery. She had surgery almost two months ago, but last year it took almost two months to get her back to "normal" after THAT surgery. Add to that the anemia and heart attack, and while she’s not 100% by any means, I do doubt that any of this is as a result of a stroke.

If the neurologist decides it is, then we’ll act accordingly. One step at a time.

  

Log in to write a note
June 6, 2012

Good for you for keeping perspective on all of this. (M thought she was having a stroke this past Sunday, but that’s M. Turns out it was probably dehydration.) Given that the confusion follows surgery, I wonder if the anesthesia used plays a role.{{{Hugs}}} to you and your Mom. You are both survivors.

June 6, 2012

Hugs and prayers continue!

June 6, 2012

It does seem unlikely that she would have had a stroke w/o you knowing!

June 6, 2012

you are right. no stroke. but you are also wise to follow up on this..

June 7, 2012

Good luck. 🙂 *hugs*

June 7, 2012

Hope it all works out