Wisdom tooth from hell

I found that moment I was waiting for. The moment where I could look and Joe and know deep in my heart he is my one and only. I just went through a pretty scary ordeal that made me realize that this Joe is the most caring and sweet man I have ever had in my life, and I feel so lucky to have him by my side.

Last Thursday I had a wisdom tooth pulled. A typically normal procedure that people go through all the time. I had two wisdom teeth pulled before and had no issues, but little did I know this one was going to be different. By Saturday the pain and swelling had doubled so I went to the ER. I had trouble swallowing, I was getting the chills, and I was in a lot of pain. They gave me Penicillin and Vicodin for the pain. They told me to call my dentist on Monday, which by then the swelling had increased even more. Well my dentist was on vacation so they referred me to an oral surgeon in town. I went to go see him and he put me on stronger anti-biotics and told me to come back the neck day. Everything seemed to be getting worse, and apparently the surgeon did too, as he told me to go check into the ER at Maine Medical and he would meet me there to perform a small incision to let the drainage out. Little did I know I would wake up in intensive care with a two tubes down my throat. One tube was actually keeping my airway from closing as it had swelled so much. I also had restraints on my wrists so I wouldn’t wake up and pull the tubes out being unaware what they were at the time. They had me pretty sedated so I don’t remember much, but I do remember a couple things. I remember waking up to my pastor JE saying a prayer. (He works for the hospital too.) My dad asked him if he could stop by which I though was really sweet. The next thing I remember was waking up to Joe’s smiling face, holding my hand. “Hey sweetheart.” I couldn’t talk with that tube down my throat, but I asked for a pen and paper so I could write that I loved him. He stayed slept in the chair next to me all day until he went into work. I was more awake the second day he had to leave, and I remember being so scared and I told him I didn’t want him to go. If he called out his boss would find a way to fire him because he’s a douchebag like that. Anyways, when he had to leave he held and kissed my hand ever so softly and I saw a tear run down his cheek. He really didn’t want to leave. I loved how he cared so much, but hated seeing him cry. I could tell how hard it was for him to leave me, and that right there, was the moment I was waiting for. I don’t know what it was….the look in his eyes, the way he held and kissed my hand, telling me how much he loved me.
The next day they took the tubes out. Ugh….very unpleasant. Joe was there for that too. I didn’t want him to watch, as I’m sure it was gross, but he did anyways. Basically it was on “On the count of 3, we are going to tank the tube out of your throat.” Just wonderful. And there was TWO tubes, so I got to do it TWICE! They pulled the tubes out, and I coughed a little bit, but I could breathe fine and that’s pretty much what they were aiming for. Joe was SO happy I could talk and smile, and breath on my own. He was just just ecstatic. More happy that me I think. From that point on it was pretty much a powerhouse of antibiotics and and pain meds, as well as pulling the drain tube out the following day. So here, I am, a few days later and STILL in the hospital. I have a small amount of swelling, and still on anti-biotics, but am on the road to recovery. They just want to make sure the infection doesn’t turn around. That would be quite unpleasant.
So back to the point I was trying to make in the first place. Joe has been by my side, every day this week, running on maybe 15-20 hours of sleep for the whole WEEK. He means the world to me. I love him so much and I couldn’t ask for a better man. He always knows how to make me happy.
And speaking my happy, my brother and Bethany got married a couple weeks ago and they are the cutest couple ever. I am so happy for my brother. I loved seeing him have that emptiness filled in his life. I knew he was getting lonely. He had expressed it a few times before he met Bethany. Maybe one of these says I’ll be an Auntie!!
 

Log in to write a note