Today’s appointment *update*

Well, it wasn’t that bad. The beginning was a little sucky, as we had to discuss the miscarriage. If it had been a drinking game and we had to take a shot each time he said the word "miscarriage"…….well, we would have dropped dead of alcohol poisoning early on.

It was his somber, rehearsed, miscarriage speech. I could not have endured it a few weeks ago, but somehow I don’t feel that bad anymore.

Then we got to talking about IVF. He started to mention we did an injectable cycle, it worked, it would be worth it to try again, then I broke in with IVF. His entire mood changed from there, I hit his sweet spot, IVF is his bread and butter and everything loosened up. I could actually remember my questions for once. Somehow getting the miscarriage talk, was similar to getting any other lecture growing up that you would have rather just slipped away. Everything got more comfortable once we broke the IVF ice.

So, we can most definitely use the gent’s sperm! Yay!. The words low ovarian reserve finally came out of his mouth. My numbers are not great. As he said you won’t be a 30 egg responder, you won’t even be a 20 egg responder…but maybe 10. Then he said I’d rather have six 34 year old eggs than twenty 43 year old eggs any day of the week.

I still know it’s a big risk, but it’s worth it. The idea of actually having a biological baby after all the hell we have been through…… sigh. It’s sparked some excitement in this again.

He said we could get ready to go whenever my period started again….we’ll wait a couple of months. I asked about being taken out of work. I love his response to that…. You need an excuse, no problem, I’ll write whatever you want me to write whenever you want me to write it. That is NOT a problem. It was odd to see him loosened up a tad.

So for the recurrent miscarriage work-up. Tons of labs, TONS.OMFG! I was looking at the order form and I knew it would probably be 4-5 vials. It was TEN vials of blood. I thought he would only do a thyroid panel and some basic clotting factors etc. I’ll get a chromosomal workup, check for multiple specific gene mutations, clotting and autoimmune work-up, as well as thyroid and diabetes. The front desk lab lady was a ghetto turd, but the lady who drew my blood was cool. She didn’t give any warning before the stick, but O’ well, then as tube after tube after tube after tube was drawn, I had to giggle. I told her at least I bleed really good. She was sweet, when I left she grabbed my coat off of the rack, opened it up and put it on for me. She was so, just, genuine. It was very nice. another good experience for the day.

We talked to the financial lady. We will still have to pay several thousand out of pocket, and up front. But I think it will come in under $4k for the IVF and then whatever the meds cost…a couple of thousand there. Still no where near the $20k+ it would be otherwise. They will only let you participate in a single cycle deal with insurance, but I just realized I could probably do more since it won’t eat up my entire benefit on the first round.  There are other charges. Pattie will do all the leg work to get a preauthorization.

Next we have to get in touch with Dr. Silbers office to see what the process will be to get The Gents sperm here.

Went o PF Changs afterwards, had a lovely perky hostess.

I left there feeling hopeful. The Gent and I have to do 10 days of antibiotics to make sure we aren’t ‘just passing  a bacterial infection back and forth.

I was all great today. I wanted to go in happy, but knew I should go in thinking I might be disappointed.

So happy this might work out for us.

 

Until Next time

later

 

Part of the labs came back. I haven’t actually talked to the doctor yet since I’m working night shift, and asked him to leave a message.

BUT

I do have a gene mutation that might have something to do with it. MTHFR. He says it’s not a big deal, research leads me to believe I need to research it more. But, it seems to be easily treated, and if you get on a lot of sites about gene expression…………well I just end up wandering off to more sites and get more intrigued by gene expression and the genetic code carried by DNA…and how magnificent that is…..and get totally distracted as I learn that "jawed vertebrates" is a studied superclass………retroviruses are inherently coded in "jawed vertebrates"  DNA, and then we have specific gene mutations to stop the replication of inherent retrovirus expressions……….and it all gets very ADHD and I wonder if nursing is what I should be doing.

 

That was a sneak peak into my brain when I enter Wikipedia.

This one was more fun than my ADHD adventure into nuclear weapons, fission, critical mass, and  plutonium.

Log in to write a note

So good to read this. 🙂

good luck. I did get some of those tests when I saw a gynecologist after I’d miscarried (once for sure, possibly twice). I discovered I have the mthfr mutation. which means it’s best for me to take a lot more folic acid than most women because my body processes it differently. my fertility doctor read some research on that being a factor in autism etc, and errs on the side of caution and has meon more folic acid and other b vitamins. (one of the things I like about her is that she’s up on all the latest research and findings). hope your tests are helpful. and good news. good luck! sending hope your way.

January 21, 2014

🙂

January 29, 2014

I thought when you said MTHFR you were abbreviating mother****er…lol