About Tres De Julio.

I don’t really like fireworks. I don’t really like large gatherings, either. But, there’s something about the atmosphere, and those few people you don’t see that often that make for an interesting day. Trent and `Tino at any social gathering is good karma. It’s fascinating to watch Erik’s friends (us) interact with his sister’s friends. Or watching as sixty people use the bathroom in a row.

I naturally went upstairs when I had to, you know, go. That downstairs bathroom gets around.

A few years ago, it was the July 4th Final Fantasy X marathon. That forever sticks in my mind as a paragon of what it’s all about for us. Just sitting around enjoying a good video game. Only now we’re imbibing more than we have in years past. Amusing since I’m the only one (aside from “adults”) who is legally allowed to drink.

This year was the year’s games were Mario Party 4. Oh god, horrible. And DDR. And Destroy All Humans at the end of the evening. And, as it should always be, Smash Bros Melee.

This was the year I became.. the Drunken Master. I swear, I suck at Melee as compared to the original. I was more buzzed than anybody else. (I’m a cheap date, what can I say?) And suddenly, I grew skill. I couldn’t believe I was actually winning. And Trent was completely sober!

Previously I was doing some drunken DDR. I’d complete a song rather well – then fall over. Ha ha.

(Side note: Two and a half years ago, you couldn’t get me on those damn pads. It was the crowd I was with, I think. I didn’t feel comfortable with them. It felt like a cult. And now. Well, if I hate something, I end up loving it. And now. DDR is growing on me. There, I said it. Don’t make me smack you.)

There was a really creepy guy named Joe hitting on Erik’s little sister. Damn him, he forced me to stay sober long enough to look after her. He’s one of those types that’s drinking and keeps talking about how he needs to drink more for the “party to get started”. Or some bullshit like that. Every last one of us agreed on the bad karma around him. Cliff left because he was pissing him off. Trent wanted to off him. And Trent’s a very easy-going guy.

Aside from Erik’s parents, I was the first one up this morning. I feel so old. Heh. Seeing as how I stayed the night, I took the liberty of helping clean up. Trash and recyclables inside the house. Then tried going through the backyard. It’s like a couple bags of trash just exploded on their backyard. I picked up firecrackers for a while, then just gave up. Put my bathing suit on and went back into their new inflatable pool. I was actually the one who went in and skimmed all the beetles out yesterday. Erik’s mom has since started calling me a Merman.

Closed bakery today. It felt like I was going slow, yet it was clear I was going faster than anybody else would. Part of the slow-down is the fact that I bother putting the dishes where they belong, and the signs in the appropriate places. Not a single closer knows that. (And Jenny just doesn’t close anymore, so..) I really didn’t get much pre-closing done because Suzanne had us doing other tasks. But, I have to respect her for trying to get shit done that needed to get done. Unlike a lot of managers I’ve seen, she’s on top of actually running her shift.

*burps* Only on for four days this week, probably because I requested Sunday off. I wonder which day I’ll be called in. Hey, I like getting hours.

Log in to write a note
July 4, 2005

I LOVE to watch people on DDR. That shit cracks me up. Seriously. I could watch someone on that for hours. I laugh so hard that tears come out of my eyes. Send me a picture 😉

July 4, 2005

Ambidextrous.

July 5, 2005

Smash Bros Melee, is the perfect party game. You get to dish violence onto fellow party goers, but it’s so colourfull & cute etc, that no-one minds 🙂

🙂

July 5, 2005

DDR is awesome. It makes me feel deliciously geeky.

July 7, 2005

Going to see fireworks is the only 4th of July tradition I had with my family.We’re not very patriotic.

July 10, 2005

sounds like you had a hell of a time