Hitting every part of the store.

Came in at 11 AM, expecting to cut bagettes for line. Was told to help finish paninis. Told I’d be on register. Told to make bagettes. Ended up being the only person on line for a bit. Go figure. Was on line for a while until I shifted over.

Rang like nobody’s business. I mean, if there’s a textbook way you’re supposed to ring people, I have it down to a science. April found my mannerisms amusing, and Phil wanted to me to teach him register.

Was told to make two batches of lemonade. Customer points out lack of samples. I make samples. Customer complains of cold coffee. I throw two pots of coffee on. Am told again to make lemonade. I make lemonade.

I go on break. I make myself a sandwich on french miche with signature sauce, lettuce, tomato, turkey, and cucumbers. I remember that I hate cucumbers after the first bite and remove the cucumbers.

I notice iced tea is completely empty. I notice there’s no box of tea underneath. I notice that there’s a box of tea that’s about to expire in early July – which is under two more boxes. Got the oldest box down, because I’m responsible and shit. Make iced tea. On my break.

I notice the time and consider making bagettes because Cliff won’t be around to do it. I ask Mike. Mike blindly agrees. I make more bagettes. They come out perfectly. I smile at how I’ve mastered the art of making french bagettes.

Get asked to plow through dishes. Ask why Brian doesn’t do dishes, as I wanted to be on line during dinner rush. Am told that Brian needs practice on line, and he’ll be doing it later anyway. Hesitantly agree. Put on some disco and have a grand ol` time doing dishes.

GM leaves – tells me set an example and put my hat forwards. I was rocking out with my hat backwards. (I’m a rebel.) For a moment consider that the reason I get so much shit from managers is because more is expected of me. Maybe.

Finish dishes and start pulling chicken. Because if I don’t pull chicken, whoever makes paninis tomorrow will have to do it anyway. It eats precious time in the morning. Am told to come up front when I finish and help cashiers – that doesn’t happen. Finish pulling chicken, learn that line is out of pepper-mustard chicken. Get out a cutting board and fillet some chicken for line. Finish filleting.

Am told to come up on line, and Brian to go in the back. He somehow ended up consolidating. And he was eight orders off the screen. As Matt and Phil were excellent linemates, I was able to bring all the orders together and clear the screen with minimal stress. Pat myself on the back for being the man. After that, the three of us were able to keep order times down.

Asked to close, as Brian walked out. Agree. Thought I’d close dish, as that’s where I was before. Informed Phil will close dish. Hesistantly move back to line. Try to think of everything Barbara does when she pre-closes. Stock like a mofo. Flip soups into bags. Pull everything out from the fridges and bring them back. Clean salad fridge and line with wax paper.

New kid on line Mike flipped salad dressings and cleaned it up. I opennly admit how I really didn’t want to get stuck doing that.

Toasted pecans. We didn’t have any today, and I know nobody will bother doing it tomorrow. (Effectively covering myself.) Matt sweeps and scrubs floor. I put the espresso machine into cleaning mode. Store closes at 10 PM. Bring soups into ice bath. Um. We were pretty much done in a half an hour. I came over to set up all the dishes in bakery. Because nobody else knows where they go. Put signs where they belong, including bagel signs.

Clock out. Remember what my hours were last week, subtract off this from final total, as we have a two week pay cycle. Notice I’ll be getting overtime again. Pump fist.

Sonia’s on vacation this coming week. I noticed I don’t have a single mid-day shift. I’m working Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday, excluding my obligatory weekend shifts. I’m willing to bet one of those days I’ll have to be Sonia, whether it be consolidating during lunch rush, or doing all her prep stuff in the morning. I’m openning Saturday, which is odd considering I’ve been working on weekends with the expectations of helping on line. GM said that he had nobody else to open. Which suits me. I like opennings.

Log in to write a note

The more you know, the more they ask you to do. At least you don’t lack for challenges, though, and at least the more you know, the more valued you are, ’cause you end up being the go-to guy.

June 25, 2005

Well – nothing like a little job security eh?

June 25, 2005

wow, it’s things like this that remind me why I left the services industry… Godspeed. ~MKH

June 25, 2005

It’s all so familiar…everything is the same everywhere somehow, and I wonder what it’s all about.

RYN: You can tie up a shirt in many different ways to make different patterns with the dye. http://www.prochemical.com/directions/Folding.htm

Sounds like a fun day at work. *nods* PENIS!

June 26, 2005

“Pat myself on the back for being the man.” haha, you’re so modest. I love it. Make some more lemonade; I want some. Please. Heather—->

June 26, 2005

I hate having more expected of you. It really screws up your chances to moderately slack off.

June 26, 2005

RYN: Multiple, huh? God, that made me so hot. 😉 Be well,

June 27, 2005

Wow.