I second that emotion.

I hate to admit it, but I like Al. I avoid drinking alone simply because I want to avoid all possibility of being an alcoholic. Such old-psyche thinking, I believe it is. It’s just. I like alcohol. *laughs* I like Al just as much as I’ve come to like Mary. *snaps fingers at you*

So I got out a wine glass and measured out a shot of strawberry smirnoff vodka. Filled the rest of the glass with cranberry raspberry jews. If I’m going to do it, I’m going to do it right! Pretentious bastard until the end. It actually tastes pretty good. (To realize how big I’m dorx0ring, I’m eating Chef Boyardee with it.)

I had a dream last night that I was smoking a cigarette. I was in the back of someone’s car, I think Liz’s. Except Liz was also in the back seat. Somebody else was driving. I took note of the fact that I’ve never, in fact, smoked tobacco. Yet, in the dream, I joked that I didn’t smoke much, as if to imply an impending addiction. As if the fear of addiction is embedded in me.

So, I was driving with my dad to my Grandma’s. We were listening to his Rolling Stones CD. The CD finished and started with the first track. I hit eject, and he snapped at me. “I WANTED TO LISTEN TO THAT. I LIKE THAT SONG.”

Dude, calm down. And he wonders where I get it from. He does this all the time, suddenly changing his demeanor and giving me the I’m The Father voice. Whatever. Thing is, he just sat there stone-faced, showing absolutely no indication that he actually liked the song.

He is the reason I have problems expressing positive emotion. I’m sure I knew that before, but it was so obvious right then and there.

Next day, we’re taking my mom home. We had Chronicle Volume II on. (CCR.) The song Cotton Fields came on, and my mom started singing. HA HA! Hell, I know my Grandma sings along too, I’ve heard her do it plenty of times during pinochle.

Cotton Fields is incredibly catch, by the way. We were also stuck in traffic before the Delaware Water Gap bridge, making it an incredibly corny moment as the three of us sang along. Did you know I have a deep voice? Don’t let the figure fool you. : D

I’ve processed a TON of pictures. Um. It’ll take me a while to upload them all.

Log in to write a note
August 30, 2005

I love incredibly corny moments 🙂 and pictures too! looking forward……..

Just to share…My reason for not drinking (except sometimes with dinner, or on a special occasion)? I don’t like the idea of some other substance affecting me, having enough control to change my behavior from how I’d act normally. I spent my whole life battling the adverse affects of other people’s actions, and I’m not about to relinquish my self control, now. Anyways…I’m sorry. It is

*your* choice. I just worry, that’s all. Like I said, I want you to take good care of you, and I know that alcohol and marijuana don’t give a damn how they affect you. It’s very easy to get lulled into complacency, into thinking you’ve got it under control, but these are powerful substances. Bad things can happen, no matter how careful you think you’re being. (Please don’t start smoking. 🙁 )

August 30, 2005

*giggles* YAY! 😀 ever try amaretto with cranberry juice? that’s some good shit. oh and david made this crazy concoction when we were in cambridge with some fosters, ginger beer, and hypnotiq (or however it’s spelled). that was insane. uhmmm… i forget what else was good. but yeah.

RYN’s: Ok, on the smoking, and *hopefully* ok on the other things. I guess what it really comes down to is, I think you’re too brilliant and too special to be putting any kind of drug or potentially harmful substance in your system. One of the privileges of being as intelligent as you are is the ability to make healthy choices…ones that will benefit your life, rather than not.

no smoking, timmy!! bad!