Technical Difficulties.

I left Lisa Electron off over break. I come back to discover that the problems seem to have gotten worse. I can’t wait a few more days. I’ll have to format the C: drive (or otherwise convince Windows that it doesn’t exist) and try reinstalling the OS. The T: and E: partitions will be fine. So glad I thought ahead to partition when I got this hard drive. I just. Didn’t think I’d ever have to utilize it…

*ahem*

I should get the OS installed in an hour. Though. Reinstalling everything else might take days. I have most of my programs installed on the E: drive, thankfully. Though. Without the registry, and those random dynamic link libraries (dll) in the system32 folder, Windows won’t recognize their existence. I remember the time when Sims refused to install, because it thought it was already installed – but it wasn’t? Something to do with the expansions. So I had to clean out the registry and trick it into thinking it didn’t exist.

Ha ha. Fiddling with computers is the art of convincing them that they’re Buddhist. YOU HAVE NO SELF!

Reinstall complete. Ready Room and Cargo Bay left untouched. First order of business is to get rid of that god damned go button. I must eat now.

9 PM.

This is bad. I thought everything was solved. I had reinstalled a bunch of stuff. I restarted finally. And now the flickering is back. I can only wonder what did it. Time to fiddle.

9:45 PM

After finding System Restore, I kicked it back to it’s earliest point. I effectively lost all progress I had made in the previous two hours in reinstalling things. However, the flickering has stopped. So something I installed within that timespan is causing the flickering. I have this sneaking suspicion that it is whatever the systemchecker for RAD had me download.

Excuse me, I’m going to get TweakUI back up again, and make Lisa look like it’s supposed to. Then I’ll set a restore point so I don’t have to put my IP address in again, and work from there.

11:30

Over half an hour ago, I finally localized the cause of the flickering: The god damn video card drivers. I set a couple restore points, and tried fiddling. The ones on the CD were good. I used them instead of the ones online because, last year, well. The ones online fucked things up. But. I noticed the drivers online now are current as of March 15 or something. So I figured I’d give them a shot. They made things worse.

So. No video card drivers for me. Great.

Sure, everything works. Except. This means I can’t run anything that uses OpenGL. THAT’S ALL MY FAVORITE GAMES. (Well, except for Sims.)

Log in to write a note
March 21, 2004
March 21, 2004

i hope you can save lisa from her problems. 😛

I wish I knew more about computers…’cause that would have made just a little more sense if I did.

March 21, 2004

haha lisa electron. good times

*lost* *smiles and nods* lol ~

nerds.

March 21, 2004

For some reason I thought you had a roommate

March 21, 2004

*rubs her privates all over your diary*

nerds are alright. i like skittles.

*pets Lisa* Come on honey … be good for your daddy … he’ll give you lots of lurrrrvin’!! *adjusts underwear* I don’t know why I bother with the damn things sometimes!!

March 21, 2004

Panties……

March 21, 2004

heehee! you left some smegma on my diary. I’ve bottled it up air tight for posterity

March 21, 2004

forgot to tell you..I found my first entry about you. It’s titled Ungh

March 21, 2004

Well if you doubly scrolled you would seen all my entries *smacks you with her purple glittery dildo*

March 21, 2004

Do keep in mind, when I wrote that, I had read only one or two of your entries.

March 21, 2004

I just had an idea for a new chapter, Masturbatory Theater. In this chapter, I would be showcasing my favorite erotic literature, but only give a sampling with a link. Didn’t you request I write more about sexual exploits? I could see this chapter being along the lines of Cunning Linguists Menstration Monologues.

March 22, 2004

🙁 poor timmy! poor lisa! poor… videocardstuffs…*blinks* hi. 😀

would you shoot me in the foot, if i asked you to? Or would you only shoot a good friend, or a stranger? I wish someone would shoot me in the foot, that way i could get benefits whilst i couldn’t work, and when i turned bitter and twisted… no one would mind, “poor limpy.” shoot me in the foot, ‘just do it.’

They’re very nice knickers!

March 22, 2004

one more entry and youll make 00… 🙂

March 22, 2004
March 22, 2004

RYN: Want me to teach you? Be well,

I hate it when my computer goes on the fritz. I don’t have the patience. Oh, and your Sims reminded me– have you checked out the stuff about The Sims 2? I’m SO excited.

lol, your computer’s name is lisa electron?i named mine cosmo when we first got it :)xo