Untitled Poem

crumpled dry leaves fall
on the shadows of a love that used to be
so-called love letters tucked away
unable to be read
quiet forgetting
there was a sale at a dollar sale
I put all my stocks in it
oceans receed to reveal the naked floor
fine wine glasses purchased
for the wedding day that never came
she bought me the chapstick I used for months
applied to the lips she did like to kiss
I long ago lost the tube
quiet remembering
the film of consciousness pauses
walk to the lobby to scrape something off the floor
or is it more like spackling the hole in the wall you pass by so often
Hoping for the two dollar bill
Only to get eight quarters
the distraction
walking into the lobby to forget the current scene
plant seeds now while you can
the best trees are the ones you grow yourself

Log in to write a note
October 14, 2005

thank you for sharing.

October 14, 2005

I love this one.

October 17, 2005

*nods*