What plucking makes you realize.

Sometime when I get bored, or want to keep myself awake (or when I want to define my pubic shape), I pluck my pubes. Something I noticed from the start was just how much of the hair is underneath the surface of the skin. It seems odd, considering how thin some of the skin down there can be. When it was full-grown, I could grab a hair at any point with tweezers, and slowly pull. There’s probably something wrong with being fascinating by watching hair being tweezed, but oh well.

So, since I shave, there’ll be barely any hair above the surface. Yet when I pluck some of the hairs, there’s easily double the length under the surface. This is how ingrown hairs form – when hairs are unable to break the surface of the skin and go back down into the body. Something like that.

*yawns*

How exciting.

I got out on time today (five minutes early, to be exact), but only because Tara was on shift. She’s only helping out at our store because we suck. She’s far better than Casey. Casey bitched about how dirty the store was and had us cleaning despite being understaffed. Tara at least gives me props for being Timmy. She sees me at my strongest, when I open.

I barely slowed down today. None of the pastries were out when I came in at 5 AM. Which completely threw me off; there’s typically two full racks of pastries. I can typically get them out at least before 5:55, then throw the bagels up in a few minutes. Last week, I had lunch samples sliced by 6:40. I’m the only openner that bothers to even slice lunch samples that far in advance. Jenny once told me that if I had bread sliced for line by 7 AM, I was in good shape.

Of course, that doesn’t mean much to anybody except for Mary.

Today, I didn’t finish slicing bread for line until after Melissa came in at 8 AM. *shrugs* By the time it was nine, Tara told me to make croutons. Which caused me to go into CROUTON RAGE. Spontaneous violence, I tell you. Toss the bread in and CROUTON RAGE. Toss it in again, and CROUTON RAGE. One last time into the slicer and CROUTON RAAAAGGGEE!! My sense of humor never ceases to amaze me.

I watched the second disc of Freaks and Geeks. More moments where I want to cover my face and stab myself. More moments where I feel like I might cry. And more moments of “Damn, that is so what it’s like.” Watching DVDs on Roxanne is so much better than on TV. Picture quality plus headphones. It’s just more private like that. I can express my reactions to what I’m watching a lot more freely in private.

*yawns*

Talking to Cliff two days ago, I think we can totally get him to work with us. I also think we can recruit Ashley. Thinking about training her excits me. I could use a bitch during the summer. We’re undoubtedly get a little more business, so I’ll need to delegate a little more. Relatively speaking. I love the illusion of power, even if I never express it. I usually just end up doing everything. It’s just handy if people don’t run away from the front and leave me to take customers when I’m doing something else that nobody else would bother doing.

Hmm. I wonder where I’ll work next.

Log in to write a note
April 12, 2005

Wow, you shave everything off? And doesn’t it hurt to pluck them??

April 12, 2005

Hrm…you must be blessed with skin that doesn’t have ingrown hair problems. That or you’ve shaved so long that it’s not an issue. *ponders Timmy’s privates* O.k., I’m kidding, I wasn’t really pondering. 😉 Be well,

April 12, 2005
April 12, 2005

I’ve always found plucking fascinating. I used to be one of those girls who totally overplucked her brows to the point of near-nothingness, because I got too carried away seeing the long bits emerge from underneath. It’s sort of cathartic, in a way. Ugh. I could be a budding trichotillomaniac.

April 12, 2005

Plucking pubes +making crutons = Timmy fun. For your next job you can work for me. I’ll be your pimp.

I know a guy who told me he was fascinating with plucking. Except it was the hair on his face… and I thought that was pretty bizarre. Now plucking PUBES on the other hand… wow. That’s hardcore. You make me hungry when you talk about work. Freaks and Geeks RULES. In a way that few other shows do.

April 12, 2005

I have real trouble with ingrown pubic hair. How do you avoid this problem?

April 12, 2005

I’m staying far, far away from the shaving/plucking pubes issues. I recently noticed how dark my monitor replayed movies versus the television. That’s odd, because I have my monitor AND my TV set to the same Kelvin, and both are set for about the same brightness and sharpness. Everything else being equal,the monitor should be crisper, since I have control over pixel size. Any thoughts?

April 13, 2005

You talk about your groin so much. With no shame, and no apprehension. I think that’s pretty funny.

LOL @ CROUTON RAGE. For Timmy is the Lord of Croutonia, and he has declared croutons standard fare in his realm.

April 16, 2005

I am also a plucker. It’s fascinating watching the emergence of the length under the surface. For some reason, I am reminded of ice bergs (but without the Titanic connotation). cheers,