Tired mom

I wish there was some type of manual on how to parent kids. There are so many unknown scenarios that come with parenthood. They don’t tell you about the stress, the overwhelming experiences, or the overstimulation that you’ll receive once you have these little bundle of joys. They don’t tell you about the loss of sleep, the random times a day that you may cry. They don’t tell you how much of toll it may take on your mental health. None of it. It can be a lot. A lot for single moms, working moms, stay at home moms, married moms, etc.

I have an 11 yr old, who is going through puberty, and she just started middle school. She’s always been a force to be reckoned with, but lately that force has been x10. She talks back, is disrespectful, lies, cheats, doesn’t do her work in class. She currently is failing 3 of her classes. She’s not only disruptive at home, but also she’s disruptive at school. I’ve gotten countless emails, and countless notifications on her schools parent portal about missing work and behavior. I’ve tried all type of things. No phone, no friends. No sports, no other extracurricular activities. I’ve tried talking to her calm, I’ve tried yelling, I’ve tried incentives, and at times I haven’t said anything at all. It has been a lot to deal with because I have two smaller children (boys 3 & 5). I’m a wfh mom, 40 hrs a week sometimes more if there is OT available. My husband works 2 jobs, so I’m primarily with the kids.

I’m not trying to complain, but it has been a lot. Those are the things they don’t prepare you for. We get thrown out there and have to figure it out. Different moms out things out there, different techniques, but do they really even truly work? Maybe they do, but I hate the women who tell you not to yell, to be gentle. As a woman and a mother, we all know that it can be hard, very stressful at times. They know that every kid isn’t the same. I’ve gotten books, I’ve asked for advise, but their way doesn’t work for me, I have to figure that part out on my own. It’s just this generation of kids are so different, they’re not the same as we were growing up (80’s/90’s babies) it’s so different now. From the things on tv, to the iPads, & phones. Idk what to do anymore. I’m starting to give up…and that’s not a good feeling to feel..

to be continued…..

Log in to write a note
December 17, 2023

as a mother of four grown children and five grandchildren, i’ve always used the word “bittersweet” to describe motherhood.  i even had the word tattooed on me, because it encompasses literally every phase thru so many years, including once they are grown.  i know it doesn’t feel like it now, but somehow we get thru.  hang in there mom.  i wish i had better advice for you, but from experience, i know that hanging in there and not giving up is literally the only thing you can do sometimes.  you are probably doing a great job, but not giving yourself credit because the challenges seem so constant.

December 18, 2023

@mizzd4ever thank you for that encouragement. I’m trying my best. I appreciate your feedback and you sharing your own personal experiences

December 18, 2023

Big hugs