i am the alpha and omega of my intricate universe

i melt and sway like the could-be miracles that teeter on christmas eve.
i topple slow and gentle, slicing like the wet warm knife through room temperature

butter, i am butter,
dissolving, shaking down the salts,
falling to carpet and the pieces they all walk on

you could not see the sea salt tears
through the footprint planting of your ambitious climb
the caverns of your steps trap me in their intricacies
like a maze of mirrored desires,
i am trapped in between the fears that chase me
and the regrets that invite slowly and cautiously,
their wicked-wide smiles opening up as the Grand Canyon

these elaborate beauties, enceinte with your streaming dreams
swallow me whole
swallow my universe

and deliver from the womb of what-once-was
a curiously perfect shell

Log in to write a note

Wow. I like it 🙂 Thank you for your note. I hope it’s ok to stop back and read more of you? I bookmarked you too, if you feel the urge to read more.. have a great day!

January 21, 2011

Someone on the front page had an icon of Paula Deen, so when I read that part about ‘butter’ that was all I could think about. Whenever I see things like this I wonder how much of the imagery slips past me. I’m sure it’s obvious to you, but my literary knowledge has remained stagnant for quite some time. tchau.