Friends, anxiety, strays, rambling

Ember and Rah-Rah came to my place for a little bit last night. They were shopping over in the town where I work and to get home they had to pass my place so they stopped in to say hi.

Talked to Critter a little bit yesterday. She was considering coming over to my place too after she stopped by her mom’s place but she must have either stayed over at her mom’s (which she said was a possibility) or just been too tired to fool with it. No big. I would have liked to see her but I’m sure I’ll see her again before I have to go back to work on the fifth. The thing we were supposed to do on the first looks like it might not happen. She forgot it was spring break for the kids and there’s no one to watch them.

I really don’t want to go back to work on Saturday. Going back to the place that pushed me over the edge in the first place is probably not a real healthy thing to do, but unless and until I snap again there’s no medical reason for me to not go. I’d really love to not have to go to my first appointment with the psychiatrist after I’ve been back for two weeks and am (probably) worn out. And supposing he agrees with my therapist and decides I’ve actually got ADHD I’ll have to adjust to THOSE meds while I’m at work. I really hope they don’t have any freaky side effects. Not to mention the fact that he might not even write the prescription himself; he might just give Dr. K’s office a call and have her do it. If that happens then I’ll have to drive over there and wait for her to get a chance to do it and then drive to my pharmacy and get it filled. I really wish Dr. K would just listen to my therapist on this and write the damn scrip.

One of the stray cats that have been hanging out around the house just made an ungodly noise on my front deck. I may have to call animal control, but I know what they’re going to say: “if one of your neighbors has fed them more than three consecutive days then by law they are pets and we can’t take them away without their consent.” And of course it’s against the law to do anything to them myself, so I guess I’m stuck with stray cats making rude noises in the middle of the night until a bobcat or bear or something eats them. Bobcats and bears are at least quiet. Besides, I’m allowed to shoot those if they get up in my face. I just checked and we don’t have mountain lions over here. One of them would sort things out nicely. It looks like I’m right on the edge of the normal range of black bears, but we don’t see many of them. There was one at my parent’s place about five years ago, but it just rummaged through the garbage once or twice and it hasn’t come back since. That is one thing I miss about Florida: if you were anywhere near water there weren’t a lot of stray animals around, just a few well-fed ‘gators.

It’s 0200 and I’m not tired enough to fall asleep. I got up at a reasonable hour this morning, around 0800 or 0900 and I haven’t had any significant naps, maybe one twenty-minute one around 1700 or so.

Log in to write a note