That completely sucked

Well, on Monday night, I noted on Facebook that I had a "bit of a cough" and got the normal well wishes and admonitions to take care of it early, etc. And that’s all it seemed to be, but over the course of the next eight to ten hours I developed a fever, had tightness and pressure in my chest along with trouble breathing (with the ominous whistling sound that comes from breathing through mucus tubes), and body aches galore. My own bed had become so uncomfortable I had to move to the guest bed so the pressure points would be different. It was horrible. But through it all my nasal passages were completely clear, no congestion at all above the chest area.

And now it’s moved from my chest to my nose. Crap. Fortunately I have some generic Allegra left over from last time I had sinus problems, and if it doesn’t clear up in a few days I’ll go to the doctor. Maybe. I really can’t afford to get sick right now, work will just assume I am trying to get out of the holidays, even if I’m in the damn hospital. They won’t actually say anything, but when it comes time for my eval they’ll mention "reliability" issues, even though I’ve only missed one day since February. Yeah, they can be total bastards about managers missing work.

And I’m still so tired. Even without the Allegra I was tired all the time, and I’m pretty sure that’s just going to knock me completely out pretty soon. I’m supposed to go see my mom up at the cabin today. I was actually supposed to go yesterday, but the whole having trouble breathing thing kinda stopped me. I hope I can take a short nap and get up there.

I have to go back to work tomorrow night. Hopefully most of this will be over by then.

For those of you with giant sized washing machines and half-sized water heaters, just a friendly reminder: take your shower before you start the washing machine. Just damn. I was trying to get my bedding washed, disinfected, and dried before I passed out from the Allegra and totally forgot I wouldn’t have water for both, especially with the washing machine on "Warm/Warm".

Log in to write a note
November 16, 2011

Hope you are feeling better by the time you read this