Today Sucked

Yep. That about sums it up. We did a record number of orders despite being shorthanded at the start of the day and then having one person call in sick and another one go home sick.

I had to stay late, but not as late as I thought I would, so there’s that. I ended up doing ten and a half hours instead of the twelve I thought I’d do, and that’s way better than the eleven and a half I did yesterday. I’m scheduled ten a day, BTW. For anyone reading this from another country (I don’t think any ported over in the re-boot of OD but you never know) salaried folks in the US are normally expected to work fifty hours/week as opposed to forty on the hourly side. I’m not sure why, but honestly it’s never been that big a deal to me. At my company if it routinely takes more than ten hours per day to get your work done either you’re bad at your job or there is a serious problem in your area. I’ve lost 25% of my staff in the past three weeks and I’m addressing it as fast as I can, believe me, lol. There are always special circumstances, and during the busy holiday season from Halloween all the way through New Year’s we’ll all pull the occasional long shift but typically ten hours is plenty.

In case anyone is wondering, one of the people I lost was shocked, shocked I tell you, that she was expected to actually show up when she was scheduled. We have a pretty generous attendance policy once you’ve been with us six months but she didn’t even make it six weeks. She “just wasn’t feeling it” or something. Another one said I was mean, and when my boss asked for an explanation, she said (according to my boss) I wanted her to actually do her job and do it properly. Yeah. The other two are on various flavors of LOAs right now, both of which were dropped on us out of the blue, one of which probably won’t actually get approved but she’ll be able to keep the appeals process going for at least fourteen days and all those missed shifts are freebies. Just yay.

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2020

You’re so mean for expecting someone to do the job they are supposed to! 🙄