Unbelieveable

I actually did have a pretty good night Saturday night. I only left four items on the floor, they were all special buys that should have gone in the racks, but since we are completely re-setting one of our departments from the ground up with new fixtures, the racks were full of fixture pallets. Yay me.

Of course she didn’t say a damn thing.

Last night was a miserable night. She had changed one of my custodial people’s schedules and didn’t tell me, another one walked off the job Saturday night (and I’ve fired him) and two more got fired last week for not bothering to show up for work. So that alone would be a rough night just getting the store clean.

My stockers just didn’t get it done last night, and for no really good reason. OK, one of them had a really good reason – we normally send all the people on my side of the store to her department first to help her get a jump start because she always has more work than one person can do in eight hours and I don’t have anyone else to put up there all the time. We didn’t get to do that last night. Since I had to unload the last truck of the day when I got there (they are supposed to be unloaded, sorted, and ready to pull to the floor before I get there) The receiving team and I didn’t have a chance to pull anything to the floor before the stockers got there, so they had to do it. Add to that the fact that I had to keep baby -sitting the project team because the salaried manager (from our store) that was working with them didn’t know what she was doing. Never mind that there were two salaried managers from the project group there along with her, I had to catch all their calls when they needed doors unlocked or the forklift (the big ride-on lift truck, not the walk-behind, this stuff was heavy as hell) used to pull fixtures out of the racks or pretty much anything beyond printing new labels for the shelves. Oh, wait, the houlry manager working with them did that for her. Why was she there again? Hmmmm.

Of course I can’t tell Queeg this because I’m not going to rat out a fellow manager and besides, if I *did* rat her out, I’d get yelled at (by Queeg no less) for doing so.

If Fay gets as far North as I am she will pass well to the East according to current projections. I’d link it but the Weather Channel site seems to change their URL’s every time they update a map. Even their internal links break sometimes because of it. I guess they don’t want people linking to their site. If I were them I’d accept all the traffic my servers could handle. Banner ad revenue and all. Of course if we get just the slightest bit of wind (anything steady more than ten MPH) coupled with even the tiniest bit of rain I’ll have call-ins due to weather. People up here are morons when it comes to driving in anything other than sunlight or a full moon. Last year, the time I got blocked in, people started calling in for the overnight shift and telling us they had to leave from day shift because of the snow, even though it wasn’t sticking to anything. The odd thing is that the three other people who live over here in the mountains where I do all stayed like I did, even though we all knew it would probably sticking to the roads up here when we got home.

I’ve been treatened with yet another reprimand, so I’m sure she’s already typing it even as I’m writing this, so she can just whip it out and make me sign it next time I piss her off or she doesn’t get any the night before.

I really hate my job.

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2008

What would she reprimand you for? What would it cost you (besides driving time/distance) to transfer to another store? Isn’t there SOMETHING you can do to make it better? Can’t you report her to HR for making a hostile work environment?

That woman is just the B*** from hell