Stranded in Texas

Due to bad weather, I am stuck in the Convict Execution capital of the U.S.  When I arrived, I was told that the flight was being held for me.  Upon arriving at the appropriate gate, I saw the airplane with the passenger loading dock still attached to the plane.  I asked the extremely rude and uneducated person working the gate if I could board; she to me the flight had already left.  I told her to take a gander outside, and she told me they had already sold my seat to someone on standby.  Fuckers.  I just LOVE every single time I return to the states and encounter the most excellent customer service and extremely friendly attitudes of many of the assholes I tend to encounter.

I think I would have made the flight if the fuck working the xray machine was actually doing his job.  He stopped the belt even after my bag already passed his half-ass inspection process.  I began coaching him by gesturing with my hands and saying, "come on…come to papa…bring it through…you can do it…"  LOL!  He gave me a nasty look, and I told him I only had a couple of minutes to make my flight; his response?  "That’s not my problem."  I really wish I would have taken the other flight and avoided the States.   Compared to other countries I visit, attitudes here in comparison are pretty much shit.  I know there are loads of nice and friendly Americans, I just never seem to interact with any of them.  It’s no wonder Americans are loathed by so many other citizens from other countries.  As I wrote before, I actually lie and say I’m from Canada when I’m traveling so that I will be treated nicely.  Pathetic. 

The good news is that I slept on the flight! 

Log in to write a note
March 13, 2007

I’m very sorry you are stuck in Texas 🙁 If it makes you feel better I run into all the rude people too 😉

March 14, 2007

Hey, I’m a nice friendly American! I swear! My husband’s daughter just left today to go back home to Panama. I REALLY hope she had a positive experience here in the US but there were some occassions I saw her treated poorly, mostly because she’s not English speaking primarily and it really pissed me off.A waitress in a restaurant got all huffy and kept sighing loudly because we had to explainwhat some things were on the menu and she didn’t know the English word for lemonade and took awhile ordering. I was like, Hey,bitch…at least she’s TRYING to speak your language.” I would bet if she went to some resort in a Spanish speaking country she’d never bother to try to speak Spanish. Urgh. We have one year to decide where we’re going to move to and I’m kind of leaning toward Belize.