Great-Aunt

My niece decided to keep her baby.  It was a difficult decision.   She said that before she gave birth she had no idea how much she would love her baby.  She did not even let him out of her sight at the hospital.   She is breast feeding, which impresses me for a 17 year old.  

It is hard because my brother and his wife have been trying to have a baby for four years.  I was wishing she had not said anything to them until she was sure, but then I found out she had just told my mom she was afraid and was not sure she could be a mother.  My mom took it upon herself to call my brother.  She was also the one that had to call him and tell him the news when the decision was made.  It was honestly one of the most stressful weekends of my life, second to the death of my sister. 

It amazes me how much I can love someone I have known for two days.  I think babies are born with a loveableness Super Power…

Log in to write a note
May 6, 2012

Oh how gorgeous. Hopefully your brother etc will understand however painful it is for him and his wife. She has recently lost her mum and then to become a mum along with all the improvements you said she has made is a very very scary confusing time for her. I imagine they must of known it could of turned out this way. How could you not fall in love with that little face. I am sorry to hear your neice’s dad hasn’t been supporting her as he should xxxxx

May 7, 2012

Oh what a sweet, precious little thing. Yes, that love is SO powerful. It’s really pretty incredible, haha. I hope that your brother and sister in law can still be a positive part of the baby’s life, and that your niece continues to make positive changes in her life. I also hope she can continue to breastfeed, that is a HUGE accomplishment. Aww, I’m getting all nostalgic now for whenMY little guy was that size!!!

May 7, 2012

Beautiful baby – I’m sorry it has been such a stressful time though.

April 23, 2013

My sister was in the same situation 64 years ago. Unmarried and pregnant she was going to give the baby to my aunt and uncle. Shortly before my niece was born, my other sister, 8 years old, died. Because of this my older sister decided to keep the baby. Best decision she ever made.