Freedom and Capitalism

Every weekday I work over 8 hours and drive another 3. I do it so my wife can stay home to take care of our daughter.

It feels so unfair though. I am tired all the time. I don’t get to spend time with my family. And all for what? So the rich can get richer?

So I can die shortly after I “retire”? This life and this system will never make sense to me.

Not even healthcare or education is guaranteed without being ripped off. A life based on debt and indentured labor. And the oasis is simply a mirage that we think we’ll have by working harder and scaling up a ladder that leads to a dead end. Nearly literally.

And what matters most in this life… family, friends, nature have all been reduced to a passing-by. A drive-thru. A rubber necking of sorts.

While we are distracted with entertainment prices keep rising and billionaires keep hoarding leaving less opportunity to happy for the masses.

Log in to write a note
February 10, 2022

I feel you on this 100%

February 10, 2022

I hope I don’t make an ass out of myself by making assumptions….but…..when your child becomes older, this will free up the time your wife will need to do the 24-hr-stay-at-home thing.  And some things might change.  There’s no getting around the fact we need medical insurance, wages to pay mortgages, car payments, clothing, food, etc.  But careers do change as well as job locations, places to live, lifestyle changes.  You do not have to resign yourself to a lifetime of missed family times.  I’m sure you and your wife talk about what you both would like to do in the next few years.  You’re putting yourself into a box while you blame outside circumstances.  The rich will always get richer – that will never change.  Maybe find a job closer to home.  It might pay less, but when your wife can find a job, that will help cover expenses.   Or maybe even look for work in a different state entirely.  I have personally gone through multiple changes while raising a family.  I’ve gone from no job, to part-time work, suffered a bankruptcy, worked a boring job just to get tuition aid to get a degree, moved to a different state to keep a job and commuted home on the weekends for about 2.5 years. Nothing ever remained the same.  Trust me – the crap you are going through right now for your family will just be a part of your journey.  As long as you and your partner are on the same page about what you both want the future to look like, you’ll do okay.

February 10, 2022

Yeah, as my sister says “Life sucks and then you quack”. 🙁