Full Circle

Years ago, I was awaiting the end of my layover in the Denver airport, just like I am now.  It was the early aughts.  Cell phones were archaic; wifi didn’t even exist.  (In many ways, I like those days better.)   If you didn’t bring a book or a journal, it was going to be a long wait.

Anyway, my mom worked for the airlines, and I was a carefree college girl. So on my way back from NYC, DC, or wherever else I’d been freely galavanting, and time was passing slowly.  Bored to tears, and too poor to even pass the time by getting a magazine, I wandered until I came across a kiosk smack dab in the middle of the large hallway.  There was a large, bulky desktop and a chair. Free internet!  Ten minutes at a time!  The place was deserted and I probably spent half an hour on there.  Cosmopolitan Valancy, casually checking her email in an exotic airport on her way home from world travels.

Anyway, here today I still remember that day and how big I felt.  Now I’m here, hearding three kids and listening to one of them really, really whine about times tables.  It’s not as shiny and exciting — but I am on my way to DC again.  And I suppose that’s something.

Log in to write a note
January 7, 2023

I love this short and sweet entry and relate so well to your recognition that those times without cell phones and wifi weren’t so bad. I remember moving to the beach to work for the summer in my college days without even owning a cell phone and I didn’t die. In order to check email and such I would go to a nearby internet cafe and pay by the minute. Such different times, they were! And as for your lifestyle being oh so different, the seasons change for everyone. <3

January 7, 2023

“The early aughts…” oooh I like that!

I remember when airports were fun and exciting. Now they just seem like tedious necessities. Have a great trip!

January 7, 2023

Oh also welcome back! I hope you’re here to stay!