the job decision

Having debated the pros and cons of the situation, for now I am going to sit tight.

It’s a funny situation, the roles are unclear which will cause some confusion for the kids. But for now, it’s nothing for me to get overly upset about.

A friend who works at the gym with me suggested that I tell the parents we need to set a rule that if the girls want to go up to visit their parents, or anywhere else, that they need to tell me where they are going. And the parents need to ask their child when she shows up if she has told me where she went. That’s a pretty fair compromise. If I am responsible for their safety, I should know where they are. This also might help the girls understand my role there.

Will the parents be able to do that? Heck if I know, but I should ask for it at the least.

My friend also wisely suggested that I make it clear to the surly 5 year old that if we walk to the park, I have to hold her hand when we cross the street and when we walk on streets without sidewalks. That’s also another really practical compromise that assures me of her safety.

It’s weird that the parents want me there in the first place, in this obscure situation, and to pay me so well to entertain their kids. Whatever. It’s good for me to not be such a worry wort. I can handle the concerns I have so I’m not causing myself undue worry, and they’ll have to deal with my rules. 🙂

So, for now, it’s decent work, the kids are really sweet for the most part, and I’ll probably win over the 5 year old. It’s not so bad. And yeah, they are probably flakey, but we’ll see. I can pocket the cash I earn, and if they decide this isnt working for them, I won’t be so worried about money, as I’ve got plenty of school work to do and keep getting offered extra child care jobs. I also have internships to schedule, starting in the fall.

I had a great babysitting job last night, for the cousin of the mom I nanny for twice a week. the cousin and her husband had already put the baby to bed, the 2.5 year old decided he wanted to go to bed right away (he looked exhausted) rather than in half an hour, so he went right to bed, the parents left, and I sat at the dining room table and worked on my homework! I got a ton done, and it felt so good to make progress. It relieved a lot of pressure and guilt about school, and I kept telling myself how great it was to get paid while doing homework. And I am so proud of myself for working for 4 solid hours on homework.

And here’s cool news. A couple families I babysit date nights for told me I can bring K with me! How fabulous is that? He can play with the kids, we can watch HGTV after the kid(s) go to bed, and K gets to meet everyone. The twins’ parents were one family (they all know and like K), and the new family with the baby that I watch during the week is the other family. Sweet! And I won’t miss K while I’m gone at night working. 🙂

This is just all sorts of lovely levels of abundance. 🙂 I’m so very grateful.

Log in to write a note
February 28, 2011

good news you can take K with you :0)

February 28, 2011

Sounds good – take care xx

February 28, 2011

I’m glad you worked it out and feel good about the decision you made. 🙂 *FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING HUGS*