Bents Assembled and Ready to Raise

I finally got all of the cabin bents assembled and am ready for the Saturday raising! This has been a couple of years in the making. I attended the framing class two years ago and then started work on plans and finding antique tools. Last fall we dug the footings and started the process. Over the winter I started cutting timbers.

Saturday we are having an old fashioned “barn raising”. I’ve got about 20 people coming.  Justin (son) is coming with his girlfriend from Denver. My nephew, Bill is coming from Mass.  Otherwise it’s local family and friends.

Here I am putting a new penny into the mortise in the first bent. It’s a timber framing tradition!

Here is the 2019 Abe Lincoln.

I’m scrambling a bit to get ready for tomorrow so I’ll keep this short and post more after!

Wish me luck and not too many “snags”

Namaste

Log in to write a note
October 4, 2019

That is amazing work, you really have a talent! Good luck with the raising 🙂

October 5, 2019

This is a very interesting project.  Congratulations on the barn raising.  Don’t you need a bevy of women putting out a big spread for the men doing the raising (0r is that no longer politically correct?) – it would be historically correct.

October 6, 2019

@trunorth

The Women prepared all kinds of food for us. A couple of them chose to pitch in with the raising but it’s whatever they felt like doing. We had a great spread with crock pots full of homemade dishes and some very tasty deserts.

October 6, 2019

@vermonter57 Sounds like an old fashioned gathering and lots of fun.