Gobble Gobble

The turkeys just started gobbling so I guess that means it’s now the crack of dawn. Did a 15-minute walk on the treadmill while I watched part of an episode of the 22nd season of Law & Order SVU on the laptop.

Yesterday we made serious progress with finishing up the last of the major preparation work. Most of what’s left is just cleaning the place. As he said, we only get one shot when this particular company comes out so we really want to make sure we get the place as presentable as possible.

He touched up the painting in the laundry room and replaced the dryer hose, as I mentioned before, and then yesterday we pulled the inner windows out of the master bedroom. Now there are just the old windows we started with. Adding the new windows did little to nothing to prevent loud vehicles from waking me up anyway so I can live with it for the rest of the time we’re here. On the bright side, it makes it easier to get fresh air in here when I want and it’s easier to block light because now the window doesn’t extend into the room beyond the sill. We ordered rounded rods for the blackout drapes which will do an even better job of blocking light, plus there are still blackout shades underneath.

Anyway, it was a really big job. First he had to take out all the screws and nails and then take a razor to gouge out the silicone seal. Then he had to sand around the edges and touch up the paint as well. Today we’re going to add the trim that goes around it. Tomorrow is when we’ll probably bring in some Goodwill stuff.

We’re having a cold spell right now. It’s only going to be in the 50s today and I guess it’s going to rain. I thought I would wake up to the sound of wind and rain but I can’t hear anything out there other than one plane a few hours ago and now the turkeys.