Second Xmas without Lizzie

I find it hard to believe we are only 4 days away from Christmas.  I am trying really hard to get into the spirit of the season but it’s just not there for me anymore.  I’m honestly not certain it will ever come back.  I’m so glad I don’t have any young children anymore because i’m not sure I could fake it for them.  Lizzie loved Christmas….I mean seriously LOVED Christmas. All of it…the food, the music, the decorations and of course the gifts!  

I miss her.  Three simple words that say everything about my life now.  I miss her.  I love all my children and I am very lucky to have been able to add two more daughters when I married Brett.  But Lizzie was my “go to” when I wanted to chat or go shopping or anything really. I know all my kids love me but Liz liked me, does that make sense.  She enjoyed hanging out with me as an adult, we were friends.  I lost so much more than just a child when she passed away. 

This is the only time of year I allow myself to wallow in self pity.  I don’t broadcast it…I don’t walk around crying or lock myself away from everyone.  Christmas has simply lost it’s appeal for me. It’s like going from watching movies in HD color to old school B&W.  I’m not depressed, i’m just sad. And yes, there is a difference.  Trust me, i’ve been in therapy for over a year. LOL  

This year is better than last year so i’m hopeful that next year will be better than this year.  It’s a process…i’ll get there.

Log in to write a note
December 20, 2017

So sorry about that, I can’t imagine how hard that must make this time of year for you.

December 21, 2017

Thank you

December 20, 2017

I’m sorry for your loss. I hope that as time goes by it becomes less difficult for you.

December 21, 2017

Thank you

December 20, 2017

I will be backreading to learn about your dear Lizzie. I cannot fathom that depth of heartbreak. My heart is with yours. My loss is different, but my Ivy died at term this past January 22. If you have survived the first Christmas without Lizzie, that gives me hope that this coming year will be better than 2017

December 21, 2017

I’m so sorry for you loss….I truly understand how life altering losing a child can be.

December 20, 2017

I’m so very sorry for the loss of Lizzie. May I ask, how old was she when she passed away?

December 21, 2017

Lizzie died from Diabetic Ketoacidosis on May 26th 2016. She had just turned 25 years old.

December 21, 2017

Hugs you gently. I’m sorry.

December 21, 2017

Hugs you back….thank you Jazzy

December 27, 2017

Thinking of you… so sorry!

January 3, 2018

I am so very sorry for your loss. It is harder during these Holidays. Gentle hugs. Thank you for accepting my request!!