I came clean…

 

Last night I told J that I didn’t want to live together until I was married or at least engaged. 

 

Mind you I want to live with him right NOW but I just don’t think it would be a good idea given my track record.

 

Needless to say, he was quite surprised.

 

Which of course made me feel awful! 

 

He then proceeds to tell me

 

J: but honestly i’m just surprised

J: that’s all

Me: why are you surprised?

J: I hadn’t expected you to want to stay apart. I can totally understand why, and that’s just fine. I guess I didn’t realize I had felt that way until you just said that.

J: I guess I don’t really know why i’m surprised

Me: it isn’t that I want to stay apart, you understand that right?

J: yes I do love, I do.

Me: it may just be too soon to move in together without that added commitment.

Me: I made that mistake with 2 men

Me: you know I love you with all my heart

Me: this doesn’t change that

J: now I feel weird. . . . Oh hell I’m just going to say it. I have been looking at rings and been trying to think of the best way to ask you to marry me, but I so wanted it to be a surprise and if I ask anytime in the not so distant future I just want you to understand that its not from anything we discuss about moving in or getting a place, or any of that. It’s because you are the most precious and beautiful thing I have found in my whole life and to think of living life without you makes my heart weep. I . . . *sigh* . . . just love you.

J: I don’t want you to have thoughts in the back of your mind that that question has to do with anything other than my love for you.

Me: I never would. But I also don’t want you to push anything up because of it either.

Me: this choice was so hard to make

Me: and I’m sorry that I have to make it…….

J: I don’t think I can stop myself from waiting much longer. Life does not give you such great opportunities like this but a few times in a lifetime, and I don’t want to miss this one.

J: ok baby. It’s just going to take me a while to get my head back to the idea that I’m going to get my own place again.

 

Well I then tell how I found a ring on his PC earlier this week.  Felt good to get that off my chest.  He wanted to know what I though… I was amazing….  But I told him I didn’t want to say how I felt about it…

 

Then I keep thinking about my old wedding set, how I couldn’t sell it but I can trade up at the jeweler if I want… but do I really need a 5k ring?  How would he feel about using my Ex’s ring to pay for half of our ring….?  My grandma has a 1 carat diamond that she wants to give to me too… should I tell him about that? 

 

All these things keep going through my head and I keep wondering if I should have just said yes to him moving in here…. 

 

God I miss him when we are apart

N: 0in 0in 0pt”> 

God I miss him when we are apart

Log in to write a note