Silver Gut Lining

 It’s a bit scary the way that childhood experiences subconciously program how you act later in life.  Especially seeing as I have a kid. 

For example, every time I drop the kids off at the pool, I feel an immense wave of accomplishment, like I’ve done something really important and good.  The only explanation for this that I can come up with is that this has been programmed into me when I was toilet trained at age 2, and my brain is basically saying "Good girl!   You’re a big girl now!  You can go potty!!" to me through endorphins.   

I’m 26 years old and taking a shit is still exciting to me.  I guess there is something to live for.  

Log in to write a note
March 21, 2011

Well hold on, is taking a shit exciting to you due to an overwhelming sense of accomplishment arising from using the toilet, or is it a biological reward from releasing your bowels? Generally the latter tends to drop off as people age.

March 21, 2011

Erm, I meant former. 🙂

March 22, 2011

Bahaha for a moment i thought, “so you should be proud of getting your kid to school safely!” Until i realised you were talking about taking a shit. I can’t say I have that level of self congratulation, and in fact, never give it more than a fleeting relieved thought at the beginning of, “thank f*ck”

March 22, 2011

Hahaha, it’s the little things.

March 23, 2011

I wonder why all I feel is guilt and shame.

March 24, 2011

Ha, I had the same thought process as freckles. Was a bit slow to pick up that you were talking bout taking a dump. Weird how both of us misread pool as school!

Tak
March 24, 2011

I never thought of it this way but it totally makes sense now. At least you’re not alone. This very morning I was like, “nice!” when I saw my kids swimming in the whirlpool.

Tak
March 24, 2011

P.s. I also had the same glitch as freckles and roseystar. It made me laugh even more when I “got” the entry.