All you have to do is call

(I know I’ve used that image before, but it’s fitting for this entry.)

I’ve always been a listening post for my friends.  I don’t mind, except when they’re so busy moaning to me to realise I occasionally need to moan at people as well (which once led me to having a meltdown in a pub.  Thankfully, one of my friends now holds the same position for me.  I also use this place for the same purpose).

I’d rather they get things off their chest to me than do something stupid to hurt themselves.  Plus, I’m cheaper than a therapist.  I’ve routinely managed to get my best friend from being in tears to laughing her head off.  I may not have many skills, but this is one I have and it’s one I’m never glad I have to use, but more than willing to use anyway.

So, I got a surprise when one of my friends phoned me last night.  Apart from a Happy New Year text, I’ve not actually talked to her since the end of June.  So it was a bit of a surprise.  She was in bits, saying that she feels like a failure because she never completed either of her degrees and she was feeling suicidal, thinking no-one would miss her.  I pointed out that I never finished my degree either and that she would be missed.  Eventually I got to the bottom of her problems.

It turns out she had an assessment for her ESA and had been rejected.  She’s applied for the mandatory reconsideration and was stressing about if it needs to go to a full appeal.  One of her issues is extreme anxiety and this, naturally, had triggered that.  Having gone through it myself (my hearing is actually tomorrow), I was able to sympathise, talk her through everything and promised that when she has her appeal hearing I’d go along with her (though I won’t be able to actually go into the room with her).  Eventually I manager to calm her down, though I’m going to call her later to make sure she’s OK.

As for me?  I’m fine.  My money for my phone came through end of last week so I went to see Avengers: Infinity Wars.  No spoilers, but it’s a really good film and a stunning achievement.  I also treated myself to two new books.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (which I’ve read, love and really want to go and see the film) and Fahrenheit 451 (in the hope I can re-read it before the HBO movie airs).

I now have a CCTV camera trained on my front door.  The shop downstairs were broken into twice and the burglars got in through the door beside my front door.  So they’ve fitted a camera aimed at that door and, of course, it covers my door as well.  Which is useful.

As mentioned, my appeal hearing is tomorrow.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Will

Log in to write a note
April 29, 2018

I’m going to see Infinity Wars today.

Fingers crossed.  All my best.