In which Will gives some answers

So, I’m going to say that everyone is pretty much guessed out for the lyrics game. So, here are the answers, with youtube videos where possible.

1) Broken glass and cigarettes,

Nothing like starting you off with an easy one. And this was nothing like starting you off with an easy one. It is, in fact, There Was A Time by Guns N Roses, from Chinese Democracy:

2) Here comes the rain again

toile_de_jouy got thios one right. It was Here comes the rain again by Eurythmics:

(Sadly, I couldn’t find embedable versions of the official video to this, or any other Eurythmics song.)

3) I can’t deny what I’ve become

This is another one that no-one got. It’s Magic Doors by Portishead:

4) Yeah there`s no evil introductions

And again. This time it’s Rather Be by The Verve. It’s from the new album, which is amazing BTW:

5) We come from the land of the ice and snow,

Just about everyone got this one. Well, if you count Tender Lumpling, pherific and toile_de_jouy as everyone. It is, of course Immigrant Song by: Led Zeppelin

6) Perhaps it is the color of the sun cut flat

Another one no-one got. And, sadly, I couldn’t find a video of this version of this song on youtube. It was Mama, you’ve been on my mind by Jeff Buckley

7) Go to sleep you little baby

toile_de_jouy was the only person to know that this one was Didn’t Need Nobody But The Baby by Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss and Gillian Welch, from the amazing film Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?:

9) I’m through with standing in line to clubs I’ll never get in

Corbeau said she was embarrassed to know this one, but I’m not afraid to admit I like the song. Rockstar by Nickelback:

10) You gonna look fine

And after the excitement of the last two, we’re back to ones that no-one got right. This one was Ballrooms Of Mars by T-Rex:

11) Now I want someone badly

Chances are that a lot of people will be kicking themselves when I say that this one was I Want Someone Badly by Jeff Buckley:

12) So here I am with my thoughts of you

And this one I fell in love with at Wrestlemania last year. Leave The Memories Alone by Fuel:
<object width=”660″ height=”525″>

13) Sweet dreams are made of this

This is another one that was correctly guessed by Tender Lumpling, pherific and toile_de_jouy It was, of course Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of These) by Eurythmics:

14) He saw the operation you tried to pull today

No-one got this, which doesn’t really surprise me. It was Dark Horse Chorus (Reprieve) from Dr Horribles Sing Along Blog:

15) Now that I’ve met you

And again with no-one getting Deathly by Aimee Mann:

16) I had a friend named Ramblin’ Bob

Another one no guesses, another one from Oh Brother. It was In The Jailhouse Now by the Soggy Bottom Boys:

17) Make a new cult every day to suit your affairs

And again no guesses for The Star Of Track And Field by Belle & Sebastian:

18) Kiss me mother kiss your darlin’

Another one I know from Oh Brother. I Am Weary (Let Me Rest) by The Cox Family:

19) One is the lonliest number that you’ll ever do

Ahhh, the infamous number 19. Just about everyone, who guessed knew it was the song One. And all the guesses suggested the artist was Three Dog Night. Other suggestions were Harry Nillson and Filter. But no-one got it. The version I was listening to plays over the opening titles of the film Magnolia and was performed by Aimee Mann:

20) Ridin’ down the highway

No guesses again. It was It’s A Long Way To The Top from, and by, School Of Rock:

21) Anthony walked to his death because he thought hed never feel this way again

pherific got this one, which was a pleasent surprise, if only cos I didn’t think anyone would. If You’re feeling Sinister by Belle & Sebastian

22) Look at these People

Another one from Dr Horrible, it was Slipping by Neil Patrick Harris:
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/RidsxnnVTR4&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b&border=1″&gt;

23) When I was young, it seemed that life was so wonderful,

Kinda surprised that no-one got The Logical Song by Supertramp

24) I’ve got a funny feeling there’s something wrong today

And the second one from Chinese Democracy, it was Shackler’s Revenge by Guns N Roses:

25) Send a heartbeat to

Discovered thanks to the awesome Watchmen trailer, this was The Begining Is The End Is The Begining by Smashing Pumpkins:

26) I heard there was a secret chord

pherific got this one. Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley:

27) Oh, for the sake of momentum

More from Magnolia and Aimee Mann, Momentum:

28) She came from Greece she had a thurst for knowledge

Amelie’s Twin correctly guessed that it was Common People by William Shatner (not the pulp original, though I do like that one):

29) Well billy rapped all night about his suicide

Mott The Hoople singing Bowie. All The Young Dudes:

30) As I went down in the river to pray

And finally, correctly guessed by Amelie’s Twin (and also toile_de_jouy, but she said this was the answer to number 20 and I felt evil) another one from Oh Brother, Down In The River To Pray by Alison Krause:

And there you go.

Will

[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2009

Two of those I even have but I forgot what the first line was! Thanks for sharing the answers!

January 29, 2009

Two of those I even have but I forgot what the first line was! Thanks for sharing the answers!

January 29, 2009

Two of those I even have but I forgot what the first line was! Thanks for sharing the answers!

January 29, 2009

Lots of good music!

January 29, 2009

Lots of good music!

January 29, 2009

Lots of good music!

January 29, 2009

I liked Rockstar the first 20 times I heard it. Then, I began to hate it with a fiery passion. I am kicking myself that I didn’t get Hallelujah. *kicks self again* ~

January 29, 2009

I liked Rockstar the first 20 times I heard it. Then, I began to hate it with a fiery passion. I am kicking myself that I didn’t get Hallelujah. *kicks self again* ~

January 29, 2009

I liked Rockstar the first 20 times I heard it. Then, I began to hate it with a fiery passion. I am kicking myself that I didn’t get Hallelujah. *kicks self again* ~

January 30, 2009

Ahh good format for the answers

January 30, 2009

Ahh good format for the answers

January 30, 2009

Ahh good format for the answers

January 30, 2009

RYN: All correct except Blondie… but I’ll give you that, who’s to know I was listening to a cover version.

January 30, 2009

RYN: All correct except Blondie… but I’ll give you that, who’s to know I was listening to a cover version.

January 30, 2009

RYN: All correct except Blondie… but I’ll give you that, who’s to know I was listening to a cover version.

April 11, 2009

i got 23 ;;; only just looked at that entry today though

April 11, 2009

i got 23 ;;; only just looked at that entry today though

April 11, 2009

i got 23 ;;; only just looked at that entry today though