Lover, you should have come over

Full image.  It’s a quote from the song Self-Restraint by Pet Needs.  The entry title is, of course, from the Jeff Buckley song.  Here’s a really good cover by Elmiene:

Also, the new Grace Petrie album came out yesterday and it is absolutely fantastic.  It’s called Build Something Better and you should go listen to it.

As you can tell from my last entry, I went to see Beans on Toast a few weeks ago.  He was brilliant as ever and actually played one of my favourite songs of his, Album of the Day.  He later admitted to me that it wasn’t on the set list, but he was just feeling it, so he went with it.  One of the support acts was Memphis Gerald, a Scotsman who played an Appalachian song because, as he put it, enough Americans claim our heritage so he’s claiming their music.  (He’s got an album of Scottish folk spins on Appalachian songs called Field Notes From Pangea.)

Next weekend is the Sci-Fi Weekender, which I’m much looking forward to.  Expect the next few entries to be a lot of pics.

I’m having fun with my oven.  I’ve gotten used to using the rotisserie and have tried making lasagne.  Just need to get a deeper dish so I can actually make it with three layers.

Finished my second blackwork kit:

My next project is to learn embroidery.

Will

Log in to write a note
March 9, 2024

Beautiful needlework.

I used to like embroidery with all its different stitches.

March 10, 2024

I’ll definitely check out Grace Petrie. I’ve been spending time with the new Mary Timony album, “Untame the Tiger” and Hurray for The Riff Raff’s “The Past Is Still Alive.”

March 11, 2024

@ravdiablo thanks for the Hurray for the Riff Raff recommendation, they’re pretty good