Middlesbrough elects a new Pope

Just a heads up, this entry will be video heavy.

So, I’ve got my next appointment with Working Links.  So, we’ll see what happens with that.

The new Thomas Harris arrived on Tuesday.  I’ve read it already.   It’s damn good.

Spoke to my mum today.  My sister is up in Shetland for a week for work.  Whenever my nephew goes to mum and dads, my dad gives him £1 pocket money.  My nephew gave it to my sister so she could buy something for herself.  She’s going to spend it on ice cream.

This weekend is the Radio 1 Big Weekend and it’s in Boro.  Thankfully, nowhere near town centre.  Miley Cyrus is headlining the Saturday.  Not sure how she’ll cope with Boro, to be honest.

I missed the Eurovision semi finals, so went into the final blind.  And I enjoyed it more.  We came last, leading to the usual complaints it’s not about the song, it’s about Brexit.  (Hint, it’s about the song.)

None of the songs I voted for actually won :¬(  So, I’m going to post the videos here anyway.  First of all, my third favourite, the Australian song, which is delightfully odd:

Secondly, if you watch Last Week Tonight, you’ll have heard a bit of this one.  Iceland:

 

And Denmark.  My favourite.  It’s just a delightful, delightful little song, that’ll probably give you a smile:

And here’s where I rant as bit.  The first thing is the geoblocking used by the EBU.  I don’t know why it exists.  If you’re wondering why I’m not using the official videos, but fan cams from the hall.  Secondly, is the staging for some songs.  They include stuff that can be seen by the audience at home, but not the one in the hall.  I think it’s cheating the live audience.  It’s the reason for the screens in the last video, but it also affects the Australia video as part of it was designed to look like she’s floating above Earth.

Rant over.

Here’s the winner, for the Netherlands:

Will

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2019

Maybe next year all your music videos will win…..