Technology’s great, until it doesn’t work

Still no TV.  The plan was to put up a temporary mast and have services restored yesterday, but there’s been a legal problem getting access to the site, so it never happened.

Not that it was much of a problem for me, as I’ve had no TV.  Literally.  The picture on my telly wouldn’t work.  I still had my old TV, but it wouldn’t stay on for more than five minutes.  I got a new one today.  It was only £44, but had no remote.  I got a universal one.  I’m going to save up for a new one after next weekend.

In the meantime, I dug out my old tablet and used that as a TV.  The problem with doing that is that it has no SIM card, so I had to use the WIFI.

No problem, right?

For the past few months, whenever we’ve had heavy rain I’ve had intermittent disconnection issues.  We had heavy rain recently, so guess what?

Yeah…

When I phoned EE, I was actually asked about bad weather, so I told them.  The guy booked an EE engineer to come round and to a test.  He was in and out in 5 minutes.  He admitted he was only there because it was something he needed to do before escalating the problem.  EE phoned on Thursday and an engineer was booked for yesterday.  He came round, did a couple of tests then went to check the box.  Dirty connections, which he cleaned.  He then did more tests and discovered that the problem was at the top of the pole.  The cable had got crushed.  He fixed that and did one more test in the house.

The problem isn’t completely fixed, I still need a new router.  Once that arrives, I should be good.

In non tech news, next weekend I’m away to my first ever music festival.  It’s just a one day one, but it should be fun.  There’s only two band I really want to see (Frank Turner and the Sleeping Souls [shock] and Days n Daze), but I’m hoping to discover new bands.

I’ve mostly been watching the Paralympics.  The opening ceremony was absolutely beautiful.  I’m not a rugby fan, but I have to admit that the wheelchair rugby is great to watch.  And my mums friend and his wife both won gold today, which is awesome.

New patch:

New badge:

I’m going to watch What If?…

Will

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2021

Still no signal?! Holy shitballs, that’s bad enough. Intermittent Internet connection too? I’d be about ready to take to the streets. Hope the new router sorts it out!

August 29, 2021

😠😱😵