.x. Growing Old Is Getting Old

I don’t even know you anymore. My best friend and soul mate? I don’t know this person you’ve transformed into. It’s funny when you think about it, friends, people, they always drift away but I never felt you drifting, you were just suddenly a different person. I knew you liked sport but literally all you do now is talk about it. I can’t relate to you.

This might sound pompous of me but it’s almost as if I out grew you. You became all about family, and marriage and things I’m not sure about. I never understood you “leaving” jewellery pamphlets around the house for him so that he’d get the hint, I didn’t understand that, I still don’t understand that. Why wouldn’t you just TALK to him about it, instead of angling for a proposal?

When did you become the girl that says “You’re never going to get a boyfriend unless you at least pretend to be interested in sport.” Ugh… I don’t need to pretend shit. I’m awesome as I am and I don’t expect dudes to feign interest in any of my interests. Why the fuck would you say that? It’s so fucking backwards.

When I meet you I never thought you’d be the kind of person who needed a man to validate your existence. I was wrong.

Log in to write a note