First footing – a little late

Just a few lines.  I’m handicapped.  I can’t write in both places (very well) and I can’t just copy from one place to the other.  So it’s like I’m missing a leg or a half the keys on my keyboard or something.  I love this place and I love the other place and I love even more places and of course I love all the people in them.  And as I say every chance I get I am infinitely grateful this place has come back.  Kinda like my last employer when they said they were moving to Mexico and then didn’t.  This place went away and then it came back.

 

 

My goals for the new year?  Oh hell I don’t have any.  I’d like to walk.  I’d like to garden.  I’d like to arrange my books.  Ok there’s three.

 

Hello and bye to everyone.

 

 

The “First Footing” is a tradition celebrated on Hogmanay, a Scottish New Year’s celebration. It is supposed to bring luck and prosperity to the household for the new year. It is a ritual involving the first person to step into a household from the outside in a new year.

Log in to write a note
January 8, 2019

Those are all good goals, I think 🙂 I didn’t know anything about First Footing, that is very interesting (and I have a lot of Scottish ancestors)!

January 8, 2019

@thediarymaster It’s in wiki and I’m a big fan of wiki.

January 8, 2019

@womaninthemoon thanks!

January 8, 2019

Thinking on it – I have yet to have a first footer this year. So good to hear from you. You are missed.

January 8, 2019

Hi.  I decided to make OD my home again for a few reasons, one of which was the ease of posting photos here.  However I still miss the general functionality of the old OD.

I like the concept of First Footing.

January 8, 2019

I remember being stood outside my front door, freezing, just before the bells one year so I could be my families first foot

January 8, 2019

Random reader and noter here.  I think you will be teaching me a lot….

January 9, 2019

in my family it always had to be a dark haired male, so that left me out, lol, my cousin always got the job of bringing in a new calendar and a loaf of bread for prosperity, so long ago, thanks for the memory!

February 2, 2019

I miss your pictures of the farm.

January 7, 2020

Did I read correctly that you have moved?