Bad teeth and no money

Went to the dentist because I was long overdue. And my teeth are in bad shape. Just not bad enough for dentures.  A deep cleaning and a couple of crowns. And a whole lot of money. I really think health insurance should pay for more. My mother had dentures at a very early age. I mentioned this to they hygienist and she provided an interesting history lesson. Basically antibiotics and fluoride weren’t used by the general public until the 1950s. That’s a generalization, but before that time period, people lost their teeth at an early age, which explains my mother’s early need for dentures. I also think the use of refined sugars played a part in tooth loss, too.  When I look at those photos of skeletons found during archaeology digs, everyone’s teeth seem to be in pretty good shape.  But I could be wrong about that, too.  I’ll try to hang onto my teeth as long as possible. The hygienist also mentioned as we age, our teeth age, too, and we’re more prone to gum disease, etc., so we have to be more diligent with oral care.  So boys and girls, remember to brush twice a day, floss, and don’t eat or drink foods with sugar. Oh, and tea stains your teeth a lot more than coffee. I’m not giving up tea. I gave up coffee several years ago because it was bothering my stomach. But in retrospect, it was probably stress from a crummy job/boss, financial problems, and a dysfunctional family.

Log in to write a note
July 11, 2022

The cost of dental care has always been exorbitant.  It took me almost 2 years to pay off my crown.  I think the invention of the water pic and things that help keep your teeth from rotting outo have made a huge difference.  😎