The litter box

Yes, a litter box provides an image of the box cats use to pee and poop.  So it’s really not fair for me to use that term to describe the living room.  No one pees or poops in there.  However, it looks like a hoarder in training uses that room.  It is horrible.  And I refuse to clean up after my husband.  I am not cleaning that room.  Over the last couple of years, my husband has placed stuff in the living room because he has been tearing up the flooring in the back room of the house due to dry rot – another story completely.  He has also managed to cover every inch of the coffee table with stuff.  I can’t even see the coffee table surface for the amount of junk he’s piled on it.  And I refuse to pick up after him.  I don’t care if he is mentally unable to organize his thoughts or possessions.  If I really wanted a pristine living environment, I would clean that living room up.  As it stands now, I rarely go in there and I tell him why.  He needs to be responsible for the messes he makes.  We are both retired.  We both contribute to the finances of the household.  Why can’t we both contribute to the maintenance of the house.  The day he cleans the toilet will be the day the skies open up and the stars explode.  And by the way, I do clean every other room in the house on a regular schedule.  I just won’t clean up that coffee table mess.

Log in to write a note