Another You: By Ryan Bates

Another You

Ryan Bates

 

Guilt and pain is what I feel,

Beneath this shell of skin I wear.

A feeble skeleton lying still,

Wondering if they even care.

 

Humbly by your side I kneel,

In hopes of life your breathing.

Ear to chest it seems I feel,

A heart that is not beating.

 

Take my heart and tear it out,

For that is how I’m feeling.

Take ME God, take me now,

For MY life has no meaning.

 

This feeble hand lying still,

Hanging from your bedside.

I’ll reach to touch in hopes to feel,

Your fading pulse with mine.

 

Instead I feel a skin so cold,

A vessel going nowhere.

What love was, now is old,

Nothing really seems fair.

 

You feel a tug in your heart,

It rips and pulls you further.

Away from me to afar,

To find yourself another.

 

Another life, another plan,

Something that speaks real.

Love was real but still you ran,

I wonder now how you feel.

 

I loved you then, I love you now,

I’ll love you for forever.

You broke my heart, you ripped it out,

All to find another.

 

Another goal, another you,

I wonder if just maybe.

The life you left to find anew,

                                                                                                      Finds me going crazy.

Log in to write a note