Kentucky Basketball

Well goodbye Billy G and hello I don’t know yet :).  From what I’ve been reading Kentucky seems to be going after John Calipari of Memphis and I don’t really have a huge issue with that, he is a good coach and I like his style.  I would prefer Rick Pitino which I know, I know, that would never happen, and I would like to see Bob Knight, but yes again, I know lol.  Pitino says we should look at Travis Ford or Doug P of Arkansas, and though I like them because they did play for UK, they arn’t what I’m looking for.  At least Calipari got to a Final Four recently and he got to the Sweet 16 this season.  I think he could be a good fit and I think I’m going to go on the record and say I hope we get him because I KNOW we won’t ever get Pitino again or Knight… 

As far as Billy G goes, I wish him well, I know he’ll find a job very soon, he is a great coach and a really good recruiter and I actually never wanted to see him fired.  I wanted to see him go a third season with HIS recruits and I know next season would have been great with vets like Patterson and Meeks coming back, and then a more experienced Liggins and Miller, and of course the newcomers in big man Orton and Jon Hood, hell we would have been great, but now I don’t know.  Dick Vitale said he got a phone call stating that Patrick Patterson and Jodie Meeks have said they are staying and that is great, but I’ve heard nothing about our incoming recruits, for example that kid Ferguson of our 2010 recruits, a top 5 prospect that apparently really liked Billy G, he gave a verbal commitment to UK because of Billy now I question if he’ll stay or move on, I guess it depends on the coach we get. 

GO UK!!!!!!

Log in to write a note