Calm After the Storm

For the first time this week, it’s sunny. The rain and storms have been thundering through the midwest with reckless abandon, leaving floods and a touch of chaos in it’s wake. I’d always thought that I’d like to go somewhere that it’s always raining. The rain never bothered me – in fact, I enjoy just about everything about it besides the wet socks obtained from being in the wrong place at the wrong time when the sky decides to open up. Perhaps Seattle. Are there tornadoes there, too? I would probably have an easier time finding places to eat that are vegan, there, which would be a minor perk.

Looking outside at the calla lilies that I’d gotten in a feeble attempt to brighten up the patio a week ago, I see them drooping with the weight of the rain and lack of sunshine. I probably should have brought those in. I’m such a bad plant-mom with my black thumb. Even my cat has to remind me to feed him on the daily, which is why I’m partially thankful for his persistence.

Finally, though, a day to relax. Since there’s not an absolute deluge outside, perhaps I’ll skip booting up the xbox and playing through some Dragon Age in favor of finding a nice hiking trail – after completing some homework, of course. This literature review research project for grad school is interesting as heck, but the work involved is long and tedious, and just might be the death of me.

Log in to write a note