Duchess

You guys, my husband is awesome.  And do you know why? Even though we’ve been saying forever that  once we got down to two dogs, that was where we would stay because that is a reasonable number of pets (not to mention the cat, plus the outside cat that I’ve started feeding who now thinks he belongs to us) – when I called him Monday  night from book club and said, "My friend’s son is giving away a Great Dane puppy, oh please oh please can we have her?!" He said YES.

So I went and got her last night.  My friend J. went with me – she’s a vet, and she just loves puppies.  I swear I thought she was going to come home with one of her own – my little girl had three siblings for sale, but because she’s the runt the owners were just giving her away.  I don’t care if she’s a small Great Dane, I’ve just always wanted a Great Dane and I’m so happy!!!

That being said, it’s been 18 yers since I’ve had a puppy and I forgot how much work it is!  She was up half the night howling in outrage because we dared to kennel her. Hopefully tonight she’ll settle down a little more.

And oh, the joy of housebreaking…ugh.  I hope my house doesn’t stink like puppy poop for the rest of our lives!

But she’s JUST. SO. CUTE!!!

Log in to write a note
December 12, 2012

Welcome to the joys of puppyhood. What is her color? She is cute. Wally lasted all of 1 night in the crate. LOL.

Umm, I’m not good with dog breeds – which one in the pic is the puppy? 🙂

December 12, 2012

I am SO jealous! I’ve been on a puppy kick and want a Great Dane so bad! She’s gorgeous… have fun with her! And post lots of pics to feed my puppy fever 🙂

December 12, 2012

aww she is cute and you sound like the perfect owner. Enjoy your new addition! 🙂 xx

December 13, 2012

Great Danes are awesome! My Lucy was the “small” one… and is still a bit small for the breed, weighing in at 135. 🙂 They have a sense of humor, very social but also guardians. Also, fyi, there’s a really cool website with webcams on Great Danes of various ages. They raise them for service. I love reading their blog, Doggie Daily. explore.org with three different puppy icons to click on.

December 14, 2012

A heating pad under the kennel where she can’t chew it, and a t-shirt that smells like you, might help. It worked for us when we tried it. 🙂 Cute puppy, btw. Congratulations.

Eee! Puppy cuteness. What a sweet little (um, big?) girl! Congratulations on the new addition.

January 5, 2013

Great Danes are cool. There was a time when I wanted one too. 😛 I have to say – stay strong with the crating! My dogs whined and screamed in the crate too but later on it becomes the most wonderful blessing! Don’t give up! RE: LOL, I just totally got tired of cats. They annoy me so much. They climb the screens and have destroyed my back porch. Not to mention they poop all over my yard and in my flowers. I’m just sick and tired of cats.

January 6, 2013

Aww. Happy New Year!

January 13, 2013

Too cute. When Truman was a puppy we were kennel training him so Alex (who was five at the time) used to take his blanket and sleep on the floor next to the cage.

ryn: LOL! I imagine nuns are pretty fiery and passionate. For Jesus, anyway.

April 4, 2013

I hope you are enjoying your dog. 🙂

ryn: Hey! I tried that email address and nothing came up. Try me: dianeleblond@gmail.com