Best Laid Plans

Best laid plans often don’t go as “planned.”  I had hoped that upon returning to Open Diary, I would be able to be here consistently. I enjoy reading the posts of friends, met many years ago when I first discovered OD, as well as meeting new friends and relating to their similar or diverse life circumstances. Writing online gives us a forum to express ourselves on many levels and on many subjects. To me, it also opens our minds as we peek vicariously into each other’s lives. Unfortunately, life has a way of throwing us curveballs, so I hope you’ll forgive me if I wander into your diaries sporadically until time allows me to be a more frequent visitor.

My family is experiencing some life changes (that I cannot go into right now) and because of it, my daily routine has taken a roller coaster ride. In one way, I am embracing the changes, in another, it’s been very emotional.   Also, my daughter is scheduled to have surgery next month. Once the surgery is done, she will need several weeks of recovery.  This is going to be a challenge because her life as a small business owner and mother is non-stop from morning to night. It will also mean that her friends, daughter, and I will have to bond together to make sure her responsibilities are met so she can get the rest needed for healing. How we manage to keep her down during those weeks is going to be interesting to say the least!

All these things pale in the light of what’s happening all over the world and in our country. As I was growing up, my grandmother always told me to look around whenever I felt saddened or troubled. “There’s always someone who is experiencing something far worse than what you are going through now. During your trials, always remember to count your blessings too.” 

Hope you all have many blessings to count during these challenging times.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 22, 2020

I am really sorry life is changing for you.  The phrase my son always uses is I have had much worse and he is right, there is always someone else going through much worse and what we go through is just a hic cup.  Keep on Trucking and you will get there to the end….

September 22, 2020

@jaythesmartone  Yes, one foot in front of the other and one day at a time. Always keeping on.

kat
September 22, 2020

I hope the changes are good. praying things turn out good!

September 22, 2020

@kaliko  I think they will. It’s just a lot of upheaval right now. But taking it a day at a time. Thanks.

September 22, 2020

Such a joy to have you visit Open Diary.  Thank you for checking in when you are able to.  I hope your daughter’s recuperation time from surgery speeds right on by so she can once again be on the go.  Your grandmother gave wonderful and wise advice.  I love the exact words that she used to say.  I do have blessings to count during this most difficult time and thank you for the nudge that I should remember them.  It’s true, many are struggling more than I am and I truly do feel empathy for them.  I wish all of us were safe and secure and well taken care of.

September 22, 2020

@wildrose_2  Thanks for your kind words. My grandmother was a major influence in my life. She worked hard her whole life, and had many words of wisdom to help me as I was growing up.

I hope I can pop in here more as time allows. Our schedules have been thrown out-of-whack lately, but I do enjoy coming here and connecting with everyone.

Take good care. Wishing you all the best.

September 22, 2020

My grandma used to say something similar. “Everyone has their own troubles. And everyone thinks theirs are the worst”

Hope your daughter’s surgery and recovery go well, and that life settles down for you.

September 22, 2020

@gypsywynd  Thank you!

September 22, 2020

I feel much the same way. I miss the connections for the original OD. But I have found this diary will give me an outlet to write where no one in the real world knows me.  I need that right now. I need to find me.

 

September 22, 2020

@dapinkiiee Thanks for visiting my diary. I think most of us feel the same way in that we feel the need to write… some write about their personal experiences, some write about the world around us, and some write just to release their creativity.  Whatever the reason, OD is a great outlet for us all.  Writing does help us to discover a little more about ourselves and hopefully about each other.  Glad you’re here.