Missing in Action

I’ve been missing in action lately because I’ve been traveling. Yes, traveling to these beautiful places in nature even during this Coronavirus pandemic. We are experiencing daily spikes in the number of new virus cases in Arizona. Many are spending more time outside, visiting lakes and other local areas of interest. One of the places I recently visited was Havasupai Falls in northwestern Arizona. It’s approximately a 13-mile hike to the Falls. Along the trail, I passed wild horses and donkeys grazing on shrub scattered on a nearby mountain ridge and magnificent tall clay-covered rock overhangs. The trail is also used by the locals to transport goods to their villages. It is common courtesy to step aside and let these pack horses and the men on horseback pass on way to their destinations. Havasupai means “people of blue-green waters.” There are several falls along the way where the invigorating blue-green sprays from the fast-moving water cools your body that’s been sweat-soaked from the Arizona sun. You’ll also pass through some caves that will eventually lead you to a sun-bright opening of lush trees and pools of flowing water. Locals and tourists often bathe and swim in these pools created by the falls.

Our governor has advised seniors and those with compromised immunity systems to stay home as much as possible while we are a hotspot for this virus. I’m in my 70’s and definitely not a seasoned hiker, so I have been hiking a little each day via my treadmill. That’s right, I’m hiking to Havasupai Falls via a virtual trail video that I found on YouTube. I recently bought an inexpensive treadmill so I could keep moving during this pandemic. One of my main requirements was that it had a tablet holder. The treadmill came with an app to subscribe to monthly paid training videos, but I bypassed that and found these amazing free treadmill trail videos. I have had few opportunities to travel during my life, so I often refer to myself as a “mental” traveler, traveling to beautiful places vicariously through books, movies, and now these hiking videos. My dream is to build up stamina to be able to do some outdoor hiking on our Arizona trails once the threat of this virus has lowered the curve and we have cooler temperatures. For me, these hiking videos are very inspirational and motivating. There are trails all around the world that are available to view for free via YouTube. Another favorite of mine is The Roman Forum hike by ProWalks. You’ll walk among the tourists as you travel along the Via Sacra (the main street of ancient Rome) on your way to view the ancient temples and the Colosseum. You’ll also be treated to historical facts as you reach your step-goal for the day. Each day, I can’t wait to see what’s around the next bend.

When I’m not enjoying these beautiful scenic hikes, I’ve also been deep cleaning (cleaning out every nook, cranny, shelf, drawer, etc.) in a couple of rooms in our home. I hope you are all well and staying safe. Take care.

 

Log in to write a note
kat
July 6, 2020

what lovely pics… we have been doing some local travel too… staying away from people and enjoying nature

July 7, 2020

@kaliko Your backyard is an oasis! My goal is to hike some easy trails in the fall when our Arizona temperatures are more accommodating.

July 6, 2020

Beautiful pictures! You had me going there for a minute. I thought you were actually traveling outside of your home. Sounds interesting though. I wish I could be active and do that but I get too sore. 

July 6, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 I wish that I was actually traveling to these scenic places, but in the meantime, step by step, I’m making my way.  My daughter and granddaughter are hikers and enjoy going out on some nearby trails whenever they have some free time.

July 7, 2020

What a grand idea!  I’d love to view that video because I’ve always wanted to visit Havasupai. To me it’s got to be one of the most beautiful  places on Earth with those magnificent waterfalls and blue-green spring waters.  So extraordinarily idyllic!

One of  those these days! But I’ll probably have to take the helicopter in.  That trail is way too long and strenuous for this old timer.  Lol

A much easier and more accessible spot is be Ramsey Canyon, a birding paradise with a perennial stream.  Nice accommodations, too.

You are so fortunate to live in such a scenically varied state!

Thanks for this reminder of the very magical places to see, in person or virtually, in Arizona.

 

July 7, 2020

@oswego Yes, there are many beautiful scenic trails to hike in Arizona. My daughter and granddaughter go often.  My soul dances when I visit these places even virtually! 😊

July 7, 2020

Virtual hiking is about all I can manage, as long as it’s from the comfort of my recliner!

July 7, 2020

@gypsywynd  I will admit to watching some of these videos from my recliner too. Just love the beauty found in nature.

July 7, 2020

Thats great that youve been taking some time to yourself to walk on the treadmill and do some virtual hiking.   Good way to get exercise and to feel like you are seeing new places albeit just not in person yet.

July 7, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21  It’s a goal to be able to hike some easy trails this fall. I feel such inner peace when experiencing the beauty found in nature.

July 17, 2020

Wow! I like!! 😀 I have an elliptical… but it doesn’t hold tablets. :/

July 17, 2020

@sammybaby It was a very inexpensive treadmill.  No bells and whistles, but I did want a tablet stand and it has that.  I’m happy.  😊

July 18, 2020

@adrift You go girl!!