Hi….

Ok. Not to sure where to start this. It has been awhile.  Start with the boys…

 

I had parent teacher conferences last night for Cody.  We got his mid term report last week and I was stunned. I literally just stared at it with my mouth wide open; I think I even drooled a little. Many of you know he has a learning disability (dyslexic) and has struggled so much in school that he can’t stand it.  He has hated his IEP classes and what not.  Well…. All 4 As, 3 Bs, and 1 C. I asked him if they got him mixed up with another Cody. Especially since he has an A in
READING
and LANGUAGE ARTS.  That has NEVER happened.  From the beginning of this year, he has had no complaints about school, and really is learning more in his IEP class, (thanking myself for not taking him out last year when they said he really could function mainstream, but I wanted to give him another year of help) We did find out that his IEP teacher, is my cousin.  We figured that out the 2nd week of school. Its part of my dad’s family that we haven’t had much contact with so it isn’t a favorite’s thing…

Any way. So I go to the school. It is set up for the students to tell you how they are doing. They show you all their work and stuff. The teachers come to us. We sit in one spot.  Well, Cody had to introduce me to the teachers before they would speak. It cracked me up when I figured out what was going on. Cody had to say, hello Mr. Ledbetter, this is my mom Ali. I was impressed. Then all the teachers commented 1 by one. There was only 1 teacher at a time talking to us. They talked about how great he is as a person and very mature and responsible. No complaints. He is also raising his hand and asking questions if he doesn’t understand. (Took him 7 years to figure out how to that I guess, because he wouldn’t do it any other time) Also, a major step of improvement for
Fairborn
schools. For the first time since Cody has been on an IEP, they are following it.  They have IEP assistants in all the classrooms to help the kids with IEPs. Cody has a problem with reading an entire sentence and then reading all the answers (multiple question tests) and remembering what the question was after he finishes. So they now have it set up the right way, so that the teacher will help him. Once again, he has to ask for help and he is. They have been supposed to do this for him since 3rd grade.

 

I am just waiting on the call from
Tyler
’s teacher now.  The child will be the end of me I swear. He got wrote up on the bus.  I am divided on how I feel about this, but since I already tore the bus driver a new ass and wrote the school a nasty note I guess I should stick up for Tyler…LOL.

 
Tyler
has been getting picked on by 2 kids on the bus since day 1.  Well, Mr. Idiot bus driver doesn’t do anything about the other kids, but moves
Tyler
to the front of the bus and doesn’t tell
Tyler
why. And the 2 kids manage to still sit behind him and pull his hair and stuff. Finally, Monday, he had enough and he hit both of the kids back and of course, HE gets wrote up. The bus driver says that Ty has been a problem since the first day. Not sitting on his bottom, (I told the bus driver that the 2nd day of school that Tyler refuses to sit on his butt, he has to sit on a leg, he is short and wants to see out the windows, he has been like this from the day we took him out of the car seat as a toddler.) Says he is constantly moving and slapping other.  Ummm hello, I am there when he gets ON the bus in the morning and when he gets OFF the bus. I am outside on the front porch. Why not tell me he is acting up?  So I told the driver off good and proper yesterday morning. Had a line of cars behind the bus waiting because the idiot left the blinking red lights on. Don’t think he will be writing
Tyler
up without talking to me first again and also said he would make sure that the 2 kids that have been bothering
Tyler
would not sit near him and would talk with each other their parents. So, the rest of this week has been great for
Tyler
on the bus. School: I am waiting to hear from his teacher. He is bored. He gets all his homework done on the bus ride home. He hates the teacher. We got his mid term, all satisfactory. When do they get letter grades is what I want to know, Cody did by the time he was in 4th.  His hair is now 11 ½ inches long. He said he didn’t want to cut it yet.  Wants to have some hair left when he donates it.(locks of love) Last night he said when he grew it to the middle of his back, he would cut it.  The rate it is growing, it won’t be long!! Everyone thinks he is a girl now.  His friend (a girl) got her hair cut and donated it yesterday, they now look like twins and
Tyler
’s hair is longer. She plays football with
Tyler
, and when they are in practice gear, you can’t tell which is which. Their hair is the same color and now, the same amount sticks out the helmets.

Ok, this is long enough; can you tell I am bored at work? I want to go HOME. This weather is nuts. Russ is getting the wood stove ready to fire it up and get the house toasty warm.

 

<p class="MsoNormal” style=”MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt”>Guess what……guy I work with bought 4 lottery tickets. Had me pick 2 of them. I won $20.00…WOO HOO… First time ever winning at scratch offs.

 

Log in to write a note
October 7, 2005

My mom has gone through so much crap with schools because both my sisters are dyslexic. So many teachers are not educated well on dyslexia, and so many don’t take the modifications and such seriously. Since my sisters have switched school districts things have gotten so much better. My youngest sister is now in mainstream with all the other students, and she passed all her state mandated tests

October 7, 2005

with flying colors! It’s amazing what a turn-around these kids do when the schools actually start DOING WHAT THEY SHOULD BE!

October 12, 2005