The Wheel Weaves

Ho, ho ho, Who’s this?

Tis I, AlmostBlue.  It’s been years, but here I am again.

So much has happened in my life that I almost feel like I should start a whole new diary, maybe a whole new chapter.. can we do chapters in this version of OD?

Not long (about 6 months) after my last entry of any substance, I met the partner of my dreams.  Spoiler – we’re getting married in about 10 weeks. I’m THRILLED.

I am a stepmom now too, which was an unforeseen absolute blessing.  I’ve grown this unconventional little family and I love it.  We have holidays and BBQs with my partners EX, which you would think weird for all parties involved, but it’s really not.  I like her and we have even done girls’ night a couple of times.  Jason and his ex have had their issues in the past, and I’m not discounting those situations, but people do change as we get older and the things that mattered to us in our twenties are long gone at this point.

It’s interesting, getting older.  When I think back to all of the things that mattered so much to me then that I made myself sick over them, it’s hard to recognize myself as the same person.  I used to obsess about what other people thought of me. I would never walk out of the house without a full face of makeup.  I would become overwhelmed with anxiety if I thought one of my friends was “mad” at me.  They never really were and if for some reason a friend walked away from our friendship, I see that now as the trash taking itself out.

Helping to raise a pre-teen child has been an eye-opening experience.  I have helped raise my best friend’s kids once upon a time but that was on and off as I lived with them over the years.  The youngest is now 18.  This is a different experience, but man she is my little best friend.  Spoiled absolutely rotten by all of the adults around her, but she’s actually a great kid most of the time. She calls me her bonus mom, I love that.

I’m not sure where else to take this entry, for now, I’m hoping to be able to get back into the swing of journaling.  There’s so much of the last few years that I think back on now and wish that I had kept a diary about.  Meeting Jason, 2020 quarantine, covid, falling in love, traveling…  We lived a lot of history over the past few years, I would like to have documented all of that and my thoughts and opinions on these things.

Well, here we are. No time like the present?

Have a fabulous day!

XOXO
AB

 

Log in to write a note
August 26, 2022

Welcome back after your hiatus.  You can still jot down what you remember of the last few years even though details may have become sketchy.  I had diary end  1999.  Just came back about a year and a half ago.  There are great new friends to make.  😎