New addition?

So i currently have a new house guest. A black & white kitten. 2 days ago she turned up to my laundry/side door meowing. I tried to tell her to go home & she just meowed at me then came to me & then i seen how skinny she is. So i decided to feed her. I pat her & i could feel all of her bones & she scoffed the food down really quickly. She stayed at my door meowing all night until about 4am.

I tried calling as many animal welfare agencies as i could that night & again yesterday to try to get her some help. There is no help for the weekends & after hours unless an animal is seriously hurt.

She came back yesterday afternoon & i fed her again then i went out to sit with her to double check her sex, to see how old she is & see if she had a desexing tattoo. No tattoo & she still has her kitten teeth. I also seen in the daylight a good look at her & how small she really is. She is about 6mths old i would guess. The night before she was killing my heart meowing wanting attention. Friends asked me online if i could take her in & i said no i already have 3 & i’m only on a pension. I posted photos & video of her on my facebook page & in a few local community groups & in a few local lost & found pet groups in case she was lost & someone recognises her.

While i was sitting outside with her yesterday afternoon, after a while i couldn’t just walk away, she’s just a baby & starving. She came inside with me. It wasn’t long before i new this wasn’t going to be just a fostering situation, i could feel it in my gut that she’s here to stay. She has clear clean eyes & a nice clean dry nose, no coughing or sneezing so she doesn’t seem to be sick. I wouldn’t have exposed my other 3 if she had obvious signs of illness. I wormed her & flea treated her straight away. She growled every time i touched her even though she was asking for the affection. She wasn’t biting or scratching or trying to get away, just letting me know she wants the attention but she’s scared. She did nip when she was over stimulated, so many new things, sounds, smells, cats & she’s had it rough on the street. She has scars & a bit of her ear is missing.

If it turns out she is genuinely lost from a responsible family i will give her back even though my aunty suggests just hiding her if she is microchipped lol. I would bet that she’s just been neglected or born on the street. There are many undesexed cats roaming my street all day & night. Many irresponsible owners who don’t care where their cats are at any time. If she does turn out to belong to someone from this street they’re not getting her back after neglecting her, letting her starve to just skin & bone & forced to fend for herself on the street especially during the heatwave. She’s just a  baby.

Last night she slept either on my bed or in the loungeroom/kitchen door way. A few times she came right to me for a snuggle. She did knead my boobs twice & nibble my nose gently. She doesn’t growl when i touch her now unless i pick her up. She did bite me when i touched her back paws. She won’t let my cats near her & they seem to be scared of her fearful defensiveness, she is allowing them a little closer than yesterday though. I boiled some chicken drumsticks today for the cats. I turned the stove off to let them cool & later on i caught the new addition on the stove eating a stolen drumstick from the pot. She had a pudgy belly & she had eaten the knobbly bit off the end of the bone. Hopefully it wont cause any issues but i’m keeping an eye on her anyway. Hopefully the food issue will settle when she realises she’s not going to go hungry again.

I also didn’t clean the litter boxes yesterday afternoon or night hoping she would smell that is the place to go to the toilet & she worked that out very quickly, so i’m happy with that. She hasn’t tried to or asked to go outside once. She has gone to the door to have a smell then walks back. She follows me everywhere & she is a walk under your feet cat. I can’t go anywhere without her right at my feet. She hasn’t gone upstairs yet & when i did earlier to set up the extra litter box she stayed downstairs & cried out the whole time i was up there. She has a very loud meow & growl for such a little girl.

I’ve already made inquiries as to getting her microchipped & desexed if she isn’t microchipped already & right now i’m hoping she isn’t. I had NO INTENTION of getting another pet especially another cat, maybe a dog at the end of the year but not another cat. She had other plans. Thankfully i did end up not really meaning to buy over $200 worth of cat food last pay. Something must have been telling me to do it, prepare for a new arrival. Luckily i already have everything i need for cats. I fit the real crazy cat lady stereo type. 41 years old, single & now 4 cats.

Her name is Lexi.

Log in to write a note
March 21, 2023

Aw, Lexi sounds like such a sweet little kitten! It’s clear that you have a big heart and are willing to take care of her despite the unexpected circumstances. She’s lucky to have found you and I’m sure she’ll bring lots of love and joy into your home. Congratulations on your new addition to the family!