The relationship I share with my siblings

I’ve always had a strong relationship with my  siblings, growing up friends weren’t always a thing because we moved so much. We spent a lot of time together. Even when we became older and started getting to the point where friends were a thing, we shared pretty much the same friends. We became known by our last name, people knew that if you set off one of us three more followed.

Now I’m not saying we didn’t have our share of fights and things like that and there were times where we went a little bit without talking. At the end of the day however I always knew they would be there for me. Each of our bonds were different and the things we shared with each other were different as well.

Losing our younger brother was a huge hit for us, it shook a lot of things up for us. We’ve each had a role we played and it might have been a role we chose or even wanted but is just ended up that way. In some ways my sister’s and I each took on apart of our brothers role in honor of him not to replace him.

I’ve become even closer to my sister’s since our brothers passing. I’ve always had a close relationship with my older sister. We’ve had our share of fights and they gotten pretty bad at times. As much though as she drives me crazy I would go to war for her and not think twice about it. Her and her three children mean the world to me. She’s been through a lot and sometimes I don’t think she sees the things in her that I do. I don’t think there is a day that goes by that I don’t talk to her and we talk about everything.

My younger sister and I have always got along but I wouldn’t say we were super close like we are now. She shared a very special relationship with our brother. She is the one who everyone was the most worried about when he passed because not only did she lose her person but she was there the night he passed because he was in her house.

Over the last three years we’ve become pretty close and we went from talking here and there to I talked to her just about everyday as well. She’s become a new mom and this past year got her license to become a real estate agent.  I’ve always pushed her to do the things she loves and have always told her, she can  do anything she puts her mind to. When she calls me now about showings I always make a point of making them a big deal because she worked so hard to get here.

I’ve never been one to get jealous of any of my siblings, I don’t know that its ever been a thing for any of us. We’ve always pushed the other one to do the right thing and go for their dreams. Always be there with a helping hand if something didn’t work out.

My relationship with my brother was always a back and forth thing, not that we fought a lot  but there were somethings I think he just didn’t want to share with me. He always knew however that no matter whatever happened he could always call me and I would be there. He knew I wouldn’t ask why or put him down for a wrong decision he made. I was proud of the man he was and I always made a point of letting him know that just like he always made the point to let me know I could count on him.

I could never imagine growing up and only child and I feel bad for those who do not have a brother or sister. I also don’t understand how you can have a sibling and not talk to them or care about them. I think I have a harder time with that one now because I lost my brother and I live with a fear in my heart now that I could lose either of my sisters at any point. I didn’t spend much time thinking of that before but I also never imagine I would have to live with the pain I do now.

It’s crazy because they are a huge part of what holds me together but they are also a huge reason my world could crumble as well.

Log in to write a note
February 26, 2024

My real sister Marie is in her 70’s now and my real brother is dead also. I am not very close to any of my maternal siblings. But luckily I have two “adopted” sisters Bees and Julie. Julz just celebrated her 57th birthday yesterday… and Bees my baby sister will be 46 in November. So, I love these two with all my heart.

Siblings are great to have. They help you through life’s tough stuff.