12/06/2012

I have to say, i just love reading my bookmarks. Sometimes i come online with nothing to write about, but I always look forward to catching up on my faves. Your lives are incredibly facinating and every one of you makes me think. Even when you post about nothing, like i do. Its still a window into someone elses life besides my own, and puts things into perspective for me, or makes me feel like im having a convirsation with another adult (hard to come by at times!). Thanks for being you, and thanks for sharing it with me.

Everyone is so different and i have yet to meet someone who is much like me. Except maybe my friend Emily. But even she is really nothing like me, but we’re still kindered souls. I spent tonight talking with Brandi over wine. She is NOTHING like me, but of course we are still great friends and thats why its always so interesting. We talked about our mutual friend Rachel and her T18 baby Scarlet. We really differ there. brandi has a big heart and is a good person. But her views on "life" are so different from mine. She’s had an abortion, which she said she would do over again if it happened again, and of course I would never have an abortion. She also mentioned tonight, though, that she still thinks about that "baby" often and wonders, "what if?" That to me says that some of her comments are more of a tough front than her actual beliefs. About Rachel’s situation- Brandi said that if the doctors told her during pregnancy that there was a "high risk" for one of these genetic problems such as T18 or downs syndrome, and she were offered the option of terminating or inducing early, she would take it. She said she wouldnt want her child to have a poor quality of life with little indepence and a lot of suffering. We talked back and forth about it– how high risk doesnt mean FOR SURE, and what if you terminated a baby that was normal? Regardless- for me, I would never terminate any pregnancy even if they told me for sure my baby was "sick". Rachel knew she had a chance- didn’t know for sure, but still chose to make the best life possible for her daughter and carry to term. I would never even consider any other option. But I know a lot of other people would, and do. But Brandi has never had a child. I can’t say that I would have made the same choices before baby as I would now, after baby. Probably, but I wouldnt be as convicted about it as I am now. I would value any day I got to spend with a child I created with my husband, regardless of its chormosmal abnormalties. Its so tough though. you have to be realistic, and understand that your baby is PROBABLY not going to outlive you. But I would also have hope for that child, no matter what.

 

Got to go.

Log in to write a note
December 6, 2012

Beautiful entry. 🙂

December 6, 2012

ryn: talon is 19 months. Im sure that if i let him latch he would go to town, but 3 days with him not asking for it was enough for me. I wanted to wean him anyway but i think the child should lead and was waiting for some sort of sign from him.

I agree with you about the abortion. Honestly, with a lot of mental diseases the actual individuals with them are oblivious to a lot of their suffering. It’s the hardest on the parents. It would definitely be an extremely hard path for any parent with a sick child but, like yourself, I don’t think I could ever bring myself to have an abortion. Just the thought breaks my heart.

December 6, 2012

I’m the one who left the unsigned note. I didn’t realize I wasn’t logged in.

December 6, 2012

Yeah, that is a tough call. Not sure what I would do, it’s tough enough just being like everyone else, or trying not to be for that matter.

Ehm
December 6, 2012

🙂

December 7, 2012

I am not sure what I would do… I pray I never have to find out.

December 7, 2012

Peekaboo I c u

December 7, 2012

I feel the same way about reading my bookmarks on here! Always so interesting. The topic of abortion and life is a hard one. I can understand both sides in certain situations. However, I think about the “what if” of stuff, not necessarily because I regret it. But because there are so many possibilities and directions life can go. And theres good and bad to each.

December 11, 2012

I love the way this entry started out – which is what drew me here via R.C. I waiver between seeing incredibly fascinating in those lives represented in my bookmarks and mere randomness reflected accurately and generally completely (among them). It isn’t so much the substance, but rather, the shared will for offering it which makes OD so unique.

December 14, 2012

So what makes you ” YOU ?” do you have a fear of mannequins, you like riding mopeds, you want to retire in a treehouse near the ocean,I think you get my drift.