The Wages of Grief

The wages grief takes are strange and unexpected. My skin is blotched, my sleep restless. I burn from dreams of memories, and memories unmade, sleep gifts no rest, and is a hurdle among many at which I falter,  day by day. My face hangs like curtains off the rail, my eyes sinkholes and my stomach is a constant knot.

What is it about a woman left? How do they know, the men who smile and leer at me as I walk to my office and do my errands? I can liken it only to sharks smelling blood in the water. Is it in my face, my gait, does abandonment have a scent? Someone asked me out to dinner yesterday, and that never happened the whole of my marriage. They could not know. I have not said. I declined and yet I craved the company and attention so much it killed me to say no. It was not him I wanted across from me, I could not bear a foreign approach, I recoiled from the question, and he let it fall.

I feel in a half life, here in my glass box amongst the trees, the skyline view I coveted so much, the cachet, the fortress like quality of being so elevated. I hate this place now as much as I ever loved it before. It was a field of dreams to me. A nest to love and in which to be loved.  Now it seems a display case, a cage.

I should stop drinking, I should stop crying, sometimes I think I should stop living at all, if this is what living must be now. I want to be better than this. I want to have courage. But I find myself looking at the river more and more, and longing for the physicality of true sinking, not just this mental abyss.

I am ashamed of having been left, I am excoriated by my mistakes, missteps. I don’t know where to go from here. I am fearful, and sad all of the time and directionless. I wonder where the girl I was went, the one with the resilience and the laugh that could dispel demons.

I will keep trying, there is nothing else. I will close my curtains on the lights and the river and swim in this terrible elixor. For now, for today, for what it is worth.

 

Log in to write a note
May 4, 2018

big hugs

May 6, 2018

Hello my new friend!

I know how you feel, as I have been there.

But there is hope, a future, a new life, a rebirth of sorts.

Take time to heal, time for you first. Find your comfort and use that as your compass.

If ever you need to talk, to stay in the land of life, please message me and if needed I can share my private contact info for you.

And fear not, for I am not a predator, I smell no blood in the water. I see a star shinning on the horizon , waiting for her rescue.

*hugs*

May 7, 2018

It will get better

 

I promise