Today, I applied for grad school

I’ve considered it for years off and on. In late December, I saw a potential professional opportunity that I find exciting, but if it should come up for sure, I’d need to at least be enrolled in a graduate-level program, so, I mulled it over, and over, and over.  Then, I requested info from a bunch of different programs that sounded like they’d meet the need. Again, more mulling, some math, some fretting.

Yesterday, I started feeling really anxious. I could feel that I either had to jump in or risk the idea fading again (which would mean that if the job opportunity comes up as potentially anticipated, I’d be unqualified and sad if I didn’t jump).  Cue more fretting.

Today, I put “apply to grad school” on a to-do list (I made a “long-term list” and a “today list” this morning and this was on the “long-term list”). And I picked one. And I told myself over and over that it doesn’t matter if it’s the “right program” because as long as the piece of paper at the end of it meets the requirements I need, it doesn’t freaking matter. Besides, the prestigious programs take longer to get into, have more requirements (which I could do), cost a fortune, and frequently require in-person or real-time classes which would be hard to manage at present. As is, I could pay for the program I applied to completely out of pocket if needed (I’m no dummy, I’m going to apply for scholarships too because why pay the full amount if I don’t have to, but not needing nebulous aid is a nice privilege to have).

I can start as early as next month. With my short attention span, this is way, way better than waiting for Fall semester or some such.  I only need to pay for a class at a time too, so I don’t have to lump sum the thing.

So, I guess I’m doing this! Certainly wouldn’t hurt. I’m nervous because it’s been a long time since my Bachelor’s Degree and I have a lot going on. But I can say that I regret not doing this when I initially considered it because if I had, I’d have been done long before now.

Anyway, I was excited about getting off my tail and applying, so I had to tell someone. I guess that someone is you, dear reader. Prepare for many entries in which I complain about doing this thing I want to do. LOL.

Log in to write a note