unusually productive weekend

I’ve had such an unusually productive weekend that I find myself wondering what it is that I usually waste my weekends doing. I made a lemon loaf yesterday. It was a great recipe because it uses 2 lemons (many lemon recipes use only 1). Since I have 3 lemon trees, I like recipes that use multiple lemons.

I’ve been cleaning up the garden in small sections. Today, I managed to fill the green waste bin with yard debris. I planted a bunch of plants and seeds and began to attempt reviving the poor storm-ravaged banana.  I’m convinced the banana won’t make it. I trimmed off the dead leaves and trimmed down the badly damaged ones, and I trimmed a rotted layer off the pseudostem. I also cleared the mulch out of the pot to allow the soil to dry. The poor thing is a root-bound, waterlogged, wind-damaged mess. I considered repotting it. I need to get a bigger pot for it (or put it in-ground, but I’m not sure where–the yard is tiny, there’s not really room for it; I may be able to squeeze it into the bed between the tangle that is the grape, loquat, and lemon tree trunks and the guava tree–but nothing grows there, it’s probably too shaded).  I have to remind myself that the banana was free and has produced exactly zero bananas.

Anyway, I have most of the nursery plants I bought earlier this week planted, and 1/2 of the yard and the patio are starting to look really nice again (just don’t look up at the trees that haven’t been trimmed in forever or at the other part of the yard).

I wrote one poem yesterday (I don’t think it has potential, it was just sort of a few thoughts about an old friend who passed away a few years ago). It was interesting though in the sense that I caught myself singing one of B.’s favorite songs today and didn’t feel sad. Does this mean that the music that I don’t listen to because it reminds me of B. can come back into a playlist or two? Maybe. That’s a happy thought. It’s nice to remember my friend and not feel gutted.

I also cleaned a bunch yesterday. And I survived a chat with my least favorite people (and felt way, way less anxiety about it than I used to)–that’s a win.

Have a good week, everyone. -A

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2022

I found this post calming and sweet.  Thanks.