New Year’s Goal

Hi Friends,

Happy New Year! May this year be gentle and kind to you all!

I read an article on Medium the other day about 100 Rejections. The author had set a goal to receive 100 rejections from literary journals in a year. That’s a little negative for me, but it made me think. One of the key pieces of publishing advice that I’ve been given repeatedly is to “collect rejections,” which I haven’t the stomach for.  The article did give me the idea to try to make a lofty goal of 100 submissions to journals this year.  I tried to find the exact article, but I couldn’t so I can’t paste a link.

Anyway, I submitted a few things last year. I’m not sure 100 is a good goal as it may be too many for me to aim for. Nonetheless, I submitted a poem today. So, 1 down 99 to go?

 

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2022

My boyfriend is a talented writer…. he submitted prob over 100 times last year and 3 things got picked up for publication…. I’m too soft skinned for that amount of rejection.  I just self published a collection of poetry and even that is causing me nervousness to know people are reading it…..

January 6, 2022

@thecriticsdarling Hi! Congratulations on your poetry collection! If you’d like, send me a link, and I’ll pick up a copy. I love supporting fellow poets. I’m also pretty soft-skinned. I managed to force myself to submit around 6 poems last year and got 1 acceptance. I hope to make myself submit more this year. We’ll see.

January 12, 2022

@apexbloom that’s so sweet of you.  I’ll send you the link,  but don’t feel obligated to buy.   https://www.lulu.com/en/us/shop/roxy-dixon/the-maelstrom/paperback/product-gk8m6k.html?page=1&pageSize=4

 

Will you be posting more of your writings here?  Would love to read your work.